Page 1 of 2

transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:42 pm
by eddiex
hey there, i consider myself pretty resourceful, but i can't for the life of me figure out how to transfer ABSYNTH5 over to my new computer...i have tried using my installer (or copy of it from time machine) is this harder than they make it seem on the NI site, or am i missing something? anyone have any experience with this?

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:09 pm
by littlepig
I sympathise with you. About a year ago I tried installing Absynth 5 on a windows7 machine and had all sorts of problems with file permissions (and I was logged on as admin).

What OS are you on?

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:58 pm
by eddiex
new computer...i got the lion....not digging it all that much so far. just tried migration assistant..i have an email into NI....hopefully they will help. they make it sound simple on the website.

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:22 pm
by kitekrazy
eddiex wrote:hey there, i consider myself pretty resourceful, but i can't for the life of me figure out how to transfer ABSYNTH5 over to my new computer...i have tried using my installer (or copy of it from time machine) is this harder than they make it seem on the NI site, or am i missing something? anyone have any experience with this?
Those updates are not full installers. You have to use the original disc which is a PITA IMO. Be sure that you uninstall from the previous machine and run the service center so there are no authorization hassles.

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:33 pm
by eddiex
yeah i tried to use a copy of my installer from a back up....it didn't work (although i did try to dl. an update after opening it up after my migration.)
so using my original installer off my old computer (not a copy)
install on to my new computer
then uninstall off the old computer
or uninstall first
how do i get the original installer to the new machine without an external hard drive
i have tried migration assistant, and it doesn't give you the full installer either.
i love NI....but im starting to hate them because of this. :|

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:02 pm
by littlepig
Can't you down load the demo version then authorise it with your serial number?

I am sure that I have done that before.

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:37 am
by eddiex
hmmm....i haven't tried that yet....

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:34 am
by eddiex
awesome!!!! thanks so much little P, that worked!!! yeah!!!

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:24 am
by littlepig
Glad to help.

To be honest, when I look in the service centre on my machine it tells me that new versions are available for for a couple of the products but I am just leaving it because I think it just cause me hastle...

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:35 am
by Winterpark
btw.... isn't it an indictment, that it takes posting on the Ableton forum to get the required help for a NI product issue....

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:28 am
by Szuumm
Depends if the OP asked NI or posted on their forum - I certainly didn't see it over there...

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:03 pm
by Angstrom
I know this is no help, but just so you know it is possible to do this on Win 7 (64) without having an issue. I guess I was lucky, or something.

All I did to 'move' my installs to a new computer was

1: install from my DVDs
2: activate using their Service Centre application
3: that was it.

of course, that's not really moving the install, they allow something like three concurrent installs.

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am
by eddiex
am & szuumm....actually, ive never actually been on the NI forum.
one music forum is enough for me. :wink:
i did have an email into NI, and they did get back to me today....so not hating on them too too much their customer service wasn't bad....for me.
angstom, yeah i have the download version

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:37 am
by JMFOne
The whole service centre is disastrous imo. I love their products but in order to protect from theft they have made the user experience dreadful for the majority of honest customers.

Re: transferring NATIVE INSTRUMENTS to a new rig

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:55 am
by eddiex
yeah it has been a pain in the ass....its funny, i was more worried about transferring live and max...but it was seamless!!!!
go ABES!!!