midi instrument automation recording in loop

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

midi instrument automation recording in loop

Post by ian_halsall » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:35 pm

I want to record some automation for operator while it plays a loop of 4 bars or whatever.

I put it into overdub and it keeps it's kind of fine but when it loops around instead of stopping recording when I stop twiddling the knobs it overwrites any automation with nothing.

If I don't have overdub on it overwrites the midi as well!

What am I doing wrong here?

It must be possible to record midi instrument automation like this.

hendrikstudio
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:42 pm

Re: midi instrument automation recording in loop

Post by hendrikstudio » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:56 pm

in my ableton if i don't have overdub on & record on it makes a complete new recording & if something was there it overwrites it.
if i have overdub on & record it overwrites too but it leaves the previous notes like they where except if i hit a note that was played before.. than it overwrites that note with the new one and deletes the complete old note.

ovr&record on = adds other midi signals to what you had before, same midi signals will be overwritten & midi notes will be deleted

ovr off & record on = everything new

if your old is nice arranged without getting something changed and you want to record something new use the session view.. (wohooo RHYME!!)

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: midi instrument automation recording in loop

Post by ian_halsall » Wed Feb 29, 2012 8:42 am

I am recording automation here - moving the knobs on operator.

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: midi instrument automation recording in loop

Post by ian_halsall » Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:57 pm

just called support - it's not possible to have live stop overwriting automation when you stop moving the knob. You have to hit stop record quickly. Unless someone knows of a clever workaround.

Post Reply