Setup for Akai MPD32 knobs to work as endless encoders?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Gene Splicer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Setup for Akai MPD32 knobs to work as endless encoders?

Post by Gene Splicer » Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:46 pm

I feel like I've been banging my head against a very hard brick wall for the past two days, so I thought it was time to just post a straight up question...

HOW TO SETUP AKAI MPD32 KNOBS TO WORK AS ENDLESS ENCODERS WITH ABLETON?

I am trying to scroll through scenes using a knob. The closest I have come using INC/DEC is being able to scroll in only one direction. Turning left or right moves the focus in the same direction (usually down).

I'm tired of reading about NRPN, bytes, etc. I just want to get back to making music.

THANKS!!!

stoersignal
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: vienna

Re: Setup for Akai MPD32 knobs to work as endless encoders?

Post by stoersignal » Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:02 pm

let me know it if you find a way without the nrpn workaround!

Gene Splicer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Re: Setup for Akai MPD32 knobs to work as endless encoders?

Post by Gene Splicer » Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:46 pm

citrus
Post subject: Re: Is CC Mode a GLOBAL setting? (i.e. absolute vs relative)Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:27 am

For future reference, in case anyone has the same issue/question, this is the official answer from Ableton support:

Quote:
Live doesn't offer using relative and absolute CCs in one Live Set right now.

Which means that you can only use endless encoders as normal ones.

We've added it to the feature wishlist for future versions of Live to be able to use both.

akaratz
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup for Akai MPD32 knobs to work as endless encoders?

Post by akaratz » Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:09 pm

Hi All,
I already did this mod 3 years before, using an mpd24 and bome MT. This solution is a bit tricky and requires the MPD's Sysex Hack. More on this - search the ableton forum - for mpd24 sysex or so, or check this topic : http://www.bome.com/forums/viewtopic.ph ... pd24#p8241

Putting the MPDs in "verbose mode" helps to make all the buttons and knobs to sens sysex position, below and above the 0=127 range. Then, a simple increentation by 2-3 using BMT or MFL (not sure if MFL deals with Sysex)

Have a Great day (night)

deepdirtydub
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Kitchener

Re: Setup for Akai MPD32 knobs to work as endless encoders?

Post by deepdirtydub » Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:49 pm

Midi map to the scene select box?

Post Reply