Did you enjoy making music when you started?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
debrice

Did you enjoy making music when you started?

Post by debrice » Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:58 pm

I recently bought Ableton and I have no experience of doing this before hand. I have been trying every day for an hour or two but and have sometimes felt like I am making progress but in general I can't say I find this fun. I am determined not to give up and have been reading up, using tutorials etc.

I am wondering if any others have felt like this when starting out? I find that I am constantly forgetting how to do things I did before and that I have actually gone backwards in terms of making music since I got the program! Does anyone have any advice on how the best approaches to starting out?

Sage

Re: Did you enjoy making music when you started?

Post by Sage » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:08 pm

I still have fun!

Tarekith

Post by Tarekith » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:24 pm

Start small. I think too many people jump into it trying to bang out a whole track right away, and that will only get frustrating. Spending some time just playing with one of the synths, or messing with a drum loop using clip envelopes. Little steps that you can enjoy while you are learning.

1.A.M.

Post by 1.A.M. » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:29 pm

There IS a learning curve, the more you know the program and the technique the more enjoyable it gets.
Try to practice by examples from various trainers or Youtube videos, redo them until it gets under your skin and add something from you in plus.
Don't get pissed off when something doesn't get as you want, leave it and make other things
creating music gotta be fun in first place, you're not a pro to have deadlines or tasks to accomplish, so enjoy, if not sell everything and go fishing :lol:
Cheers.

login

Post by login » Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:20 pm