Live sampling in LIVE 8- like in (reason)

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
tintala

Live sampling in LIVE 8- like in (reason)

Post by tintala » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:46 pm

I am pretty new to Live, I have learned Reason 6 for many years.. I am starting to notice the differences in Live and Reason and takes a bit getting used to!

As some of you may know, Reason offers "live" sampling in Kong, NNXT, NN19. All you do is press the sampler button, record the sample , then it's immediately mapped to your pad or keyboard in the sampler. make sense?

well I am dying to know the comparable tool in Live 8 to sample like this? I do not see anywhere that I have searched in youtube and the forum also, how to record a sample in a sampler and use it immediately, like you would in NNXT or Kong. Is this possible, or is it just so simple that I am just blind.

Also in reason, I can layer effects to a sampler by using a line mixer and and dialing in how much I want I the line mixer.. I love this, how to do this in Live?

Thanks in advance ..! :) ......().....

rikhyray

Re: Live sampling in LIVE 8- like in (reason)

Post by rikhyray » Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:26 pm

tintala wrote:Is this possible, or is it just so simple that I am just blind.
All this is possible, and more since Live itself is sort of a giant sampler. If you want to get quickly into it, apart from build in lessons & manual, get a book- there are few good ones, or the best go to Groove3- there are some excellent video tutorials. The difference to most other is that the people who done Ableton Live videos for Groove3 are excellent musicians/producers with real live experience with Live.

oddstep

Post by oddstep » Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:30 pm

Sorry, but I disagree. you can record audio into clips, you can't record audio into midi sequenced instruments audio buffers and rearrange those audio samples on the fly. Live can't do that. It'd be good if it could.

tintala

Post by tintala » Thu Mar 22, 2012 8:31 pm