i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
kvr
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:41 pm

i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Post by kvr » Thu Mar 22, 2012 6:14 pm

so i'm receiving fm radio thru 1 monitor.(krk rokit 5)

nothing else is on. its very quit. but its there and it bugs me.

anything i can do ?

grtz, ken

11olsen
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: germany

Re: i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Post by 11olsen » Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:02 pm

lol, maybe wrap it in alu foil?

Rabalder
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:03 am
Location: Norway

Re: i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Post by Rabalder » Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:09 am

Try other cables..

2be
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 1:03 am

Re: i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Post by 2be » Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:45 pm

Balanced cables to the rescue!

ObtuseMoose
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:51 am

Re: i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Post by ObtuseMoose » Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:25 pm

I had the same problem with my monitors (Event PS8). It's likely that the FM signal is getting into your monitors either through the audio input (i.e. the cables feeding audio to the monitors), or is being picked up by wires inside the monitors. It's also possible it's coming in through the AC power line, but in my experience, that's pretty unusual.

Try unplugging the audio cables from the monitor. If the FM sound goes away, using better quality or balanced cables may be the cure.

If the sound is still there even with nothing plugged into the audio input jacks, it's probably getting picked up by wiring inside the monitors. It sounds wacky, but as 11olsen suggested, wrapping the monitors in aluminum foil might help. If nothing else, it may confirm how the signal is getting in. Wrapping my PS8s in foil on 5 sides (i.e. leaving the front unwrapped) completely eliminated the FM interference for me.

If the foil shielding cures it, but you don't like the snazzy silver look, there's not much you can easily do to fix it without getting inside the monitors and treating the internal wiring, something that's beyond the scope of a forum post.

--
Moose

savyurrecords
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:38 am
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Contact:

Re: i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Post by savyurrecords » Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:15 pm

If the FM radio sound is there with a cable plugged into the monitor then you can try a ferrite choke. It is simply a piece of iron that goes around the cable. It sounds like snake oil but they work. When I lived on top of a hill there were lots of FM towers, it was the only way I was able to use an amp.

They are cheap.
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... =107599340

If you get the sound with no cables plugged in then it is probably a fault in the monitor itself.

kvr
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Post by kvr » Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:05 pm

okay. thanks for the help.

i'l try some things this weekend. and hope it get fixed.
or else it goes back to the shop.

grtz, ken

Forge.
Posts: 5792
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: i'm receiving fm radio thru monitor

Post by Forge. » Sat Mar 24, 2012 1:37 am

record that shit!

I have made tracks out of interference.... loads of fun can be had

take some of the noise and use it as a waveform in Si/ampler etc....

Post Reply