All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 9:32 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:27 pm
Posts: 78
I keep getting this message and crash:

"Ableton Live
A serious program error has occurred.
Live will shut down after this message box is closed.

Out of memory

A crash log was dumped into...etc."

I've been checking activity monitor and I'm not pushing the RAM very hard.

I'm not doing anything particularly intensive either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 10:37 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:37 am
Posts: 2851
Location: Chicago, IL
First step is to disable your plugins and see if that helps.
To do that, just move them temporarily from where they live. If Live starts up, you will know it a dodgy plugin, and you can narrow it down from there.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 10:51 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:27 pm
Posts: 78
I'm not using any third party plugins.

It seems to happen whenever I save now.

I'm using Maxforlive but only with Henkes Grnaulator and the buffer shuffler.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:14 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:37 am
Posts: 2851
Location: Chicago, IL
Next thing to try is deleting your preference files. On OSX they are the .plist files. Search on your computer for com.ableton.plist or something like that. Just delete them, they will rebuild themselves. You can do it on Windows, but I can't remember how.

Email support too!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:18 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:27 pm
Posts: 78
Thanks for the help. Running OSX so will search out the .plist file.

I've mailed the crash report made and will mail support if the problem persists.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 1:18 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm
Posts: 3347
The main Live preferences file to delete (quit Live first) is:

/Users/punching_sandwiches/Library/Preferences/Ableton/Live 8.x/Preferences.cfg

(you may take screenshots ("cmd - shift - 4" - then: spacebar --> mouse over prefs window --> click) of your Live settings first.)

the other is: /Users/punching_sandwiches/Library/Preferences/com.ableton.live.plist (probably deleting is of no use here, but just go for it...)

_________________
Rahad Jackson wrote:
My Awesome Mix Tape #6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:04 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 706
Out of memory means what it means!

I get it all the time. Get a software like Istat Menus to monitor your RAM. at around 2.7 Gigs that Live uses , it will crash.

I try to manage the RAM when I build Live Sets.

Also Live doesn't clear its memory when you open a new set. Always close Live when you want to open another Live Set.

It'S not a bug, it's because it's 32 bits.

_________________
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Live 9.7.6 Suite
Live 10.0.5 Suite
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 5:58 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:29 pm
Posts: 155
lapieuvre wrote:
Out of memory means what it means!

Also Live doesn't clear its memory when you open a new set. Always close Live when you want to open another Live Set.

It'S not a bug, it's because it's 32 bits.

I wouldn't be so sure that this isn't a bug.
32 bit refers to how much ram can be addressed by an application, not how much and if it should be released when making a new set. I am certain this is a bug commonly referred to as memory leak.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A serious program error has occured.
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:46 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 706
zigzag wrote:
I wouldn't be so sure that this isn't a bug.
32 bit refers to how much ram can be addressed by an application, not how much and if it should be released when making a new set. I am certain this is a bug commonly referred to as memory leak.


Bug or not, it sure is a bummer! It's kind of annoying to have to close and reopen Live each time. I also have problems when I collect all and save if I don't close and reopen...

_________________
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Live 9.7.6 Suite
Live 10.0.5 Suite
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group