Recording Shoot-out: I made a mistake!

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Opz

Recording Shoot-out: I made a mistake!

Post by Opz » Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:41 pm

Ah, I discovered what went wrong. I'm still learning, I can admit when I made a mistake.
So at 96 kHz/32 bit they're the same indeed. After conversion to 44.1 kHz they're not due to conversion quality difference?

Cheers, Opz

I would like to know if anyone else noticed it, but I'm interested to see your current (2012) views on this subject which has passed this forum more than once before.

I usually record my friends and clients audio in Ableton Live using a MOTU 828mkII (Firewire) at 44.1 kHz/24 bit (recently 32 bit) WAV.
When I recorded a beat which came out of an Akai MPC2000 two days ago I decided to try to record at higher sample rates etc, so I switched my interface to 96 kHz and recorded the beat into ProTools 10 (which I had never done before as I only recently acquired PT10). The beat was made up of 7 channels coming from the MPC2000.
When I was done recording the beat at 96 kHz/32 bit in PT10, I also recorded the beat in Ableton Live how I would normally do, at 44.1 kHz/32 bit. Just to have a 'back up' of the recording the way I would normally record.

Well, the difference between the recording in PT10 and Live is extremely audible!
But then I figured I had used a twice as high sample rate in PT10, which might explain the sonic differences between the recordings.
So I recorded the same beat a second time in Live, but this time at 96 kHz/32 bit.
Comparing the two 96 kHz/32 bit recordings of both PT10 and Live, there still is a very noticeable sonic difference.
The recordings of PT10 are far more open, balanced and bright as compared to Live's recordings which sound squeezed, slightly more dull and has some sort of boxiness to it.
I had other people do the same comparison between the two recordings and they all agreed that Live had the lesser recording of the two, so I wasn't just me.