4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Lunax
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:29 pm

4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by Lunax » Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:07 am

Hey guys hope I'm not posting on the wrong thread. I've been looking into macbooks to produce music. They go by 4GB of RAM and 8GB of RAM. I know more RAM is better but would I really need 8GB of RAM? I'm planning on using Ableton on it to produce music and mixing. So I would use a lot of vsts and effects and probably some midi controller too. So would you guys suggest 8GB of RAM or do I really not need that much?

camoz
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 7:38 am
Contact:

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by camoz » Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:22 am

hi,

buy the macbook with 4gb ram and check it if its works...
later you can upgrade your mac. dont buy the ram in the apple store, check the prizes in the net.

i bought yesterday 2x 4gb ram and quite happy :-)

Gab
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:38 pm
Location: France

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by Gab » Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:48 pm

RAM is cheap. Get as much as you want, but not on the Apple Store. A two-4 GB sticks RAM kit costs $50. Get a MBP with 4 GB, then buy a 8 GB kit and install it yourself (or ask a friend to do it) if you find ou you really need more than 4 GB.
'If they act too hip, you know they can’t play shit.'

Lunax
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:29 pm

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by Lunax » Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:21 pm

Okay so I can just upgrade it and install extra RAM. But why is everyone is saying not to get it from the apple store?

Lunax
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:29 pm

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by Lunax » Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:47 pm

Lol. Well thanks for the help guys, I really appreciate it. Probably gonna get the 4GB one then

billz270
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:28 pm

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by billz270 » Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:39 pm

i would recommend you check OWC (other world computing). They have the products that u need 4gb,6gb,8gb rams and they have customer reviews so u can refer to what u like and trust and go for it..
cheers :mrgreen:

Opz
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by Opz » Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:39 pm

Maybe check prices at Crucial as well. Fast delivery for competitive prices.
You can search for RAM by mac model number so you basically always have the correct type.

friend_kami
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by friend_kami » Sat Apr 14, 2012 6:28 pm

if you're just gonna use live, get 4gb, because live can't access more.
that's 3gb on osx, and about 2gb on windows. the rest is reserved for your os.

mots
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:07 am

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by mots » Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:57 pm

icanseeclearlynowtherainhasgone wrote:
Lunax wrote:Okay so I can just upgrade it and install extra RAM. But why is everyone is saying not to get it from the apple store?
i believe the apple store charges way too much?
and would be cheaper to buy it from a kid who swiped ram out of his parents mac and sold it for cheaper? (pm if interested).

decide forself : they asked me for 150euro. i got the chips for 42euro off the corner PC store. ;)

gnurf
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:51 pm

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by gnurf » Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:47 pm

Live can use 4GB, but Lion is very RAM hungry. Get extra memory from outside the Apple store, as recommended. If you have 8GB total you get half for Live. You'll be left with 2-3GB for Live on a 4GB system, depending on the amount of gear[1] and other processes. I like to keep enough programs running that I use about 4GB, a little over 3GB if I close Safari, so having 8GB has helped a lot. Those 8Dio collections can get large too :)

[1] Device drivers do eat a chunk of memory each. It could be a few hundred megabytes when you have two USB hubs worth of crap.

alexjholland
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by alexjholland » Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:11 pm

icanseeclearlynowtherainhasgone wrote:buy the 4 for now.
when my mom goes out for the afternoon today, im gonna break open her macbook and take one of the RAM sticks out and sell it. she will never know.
Has anyone ever told you that you are complete scum?

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:07 pm

Get 8.

But yes apple charges a bit much. I'm not sure if they still give the option of either giving 2 X 2gb ram sticks or 1 x 4gb ram stick in the macbooks, but make sure you get a single 4gb ram stick so that you can just add another one.
Professional Shark Jumper.

d-track
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by d-track » Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:56 pm

it depends.
if you are the kind of person (usually secretaries at smaller companies) who leaves all the previously used applications open then 8 gb wont't be enough /or rendering in premiere in the background when using logic rewired to live in a set with huge sample libraries.
guess what i am still fine with 2gb on snow leo.
in short: 8gb.
*-*

Piplodocus
Posts: 794
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by Piplodocus » Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:30 pm

Got 4GB. Later bought 8GB (2x4GB sticks) from Crucial. Can't say I noticed much difference. Maybe I'd notice a little if I took it out. Should make the biggest difference when 64-bit Live 9 comes out. I bought it as a last ditch attempt to try to get rid of audio glitches. They didn't go, but solved it later with a Crucial M4 256GB SSD! Even 7200rpm laptop drives just can't keep up with my writing process (which often involves lots of simultaneous tracks of junk).

Hmmm... I sound like a Crucial advert.... other memory and SSD vendors available! (but yeah, Apple is expensive for extra memory)

golemus
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:26 am

Re: 4GB RAM or 8GB RAM?

Post by golemus » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:39 pm

I wouldn't recommend anybody less than 6GB that is a heavy plugin user. That is how much I have. Currently live can utilize max. about 3GB (maybe even 4GB) but you will need a few gigabytes for OS too (at least in Win7, I don't know about OSX) to prevent swapping. Win7 will utilize the unused RAM as cache so it will speed up disk operations so no RAM is wasted. There must be same functionality in OSX.

Although Live will become unstable when RAM consuption grows over 1.5GB (in Win7 at least) so I usually try to clean it up regularly so that the consuption stays under. But supposedly and hopefully this will be corrected when Live9 is published.

Conclusion: buy 8GB because it is cheap. Then would won't need to update ever again, most likely.

Post Reply