Sampled analogue warmth vs the real thing?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
taffmonster

Sampled analogue warmth vs the real thing?

Post by taffmonster » Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:06 pm

There are many people of the analogue camp who swear by its phatness and warmth. Having only owned a korg duotron I can't really comment. In the digital arena I've spent many hours with analogue modeling synths, subtractive, additive, fm and granular. When it comes to samples, synth samples in particular I have very little experience ( we'll consider drum samples as something of a special variety).

Not to long ago I purchased the maschine mikro, and more recently the vintage heat pack. I am quite enjoying the bass sounds that came with it.

With today's multi sampling abilities can the sampler fill that void in the digital soundscape where the warmth of something analogue should sit?

I understand samples are limited in that they can't be edited as easily. Filter changes aren't the same as filter changes on the actual synth as the analogue filter is no longer there and so filtering becomes digital, but the question is can they give you that warmth and phatness that everybody talks about despite these limitations.

Warmth or phatness seem to be two terms used a lot by the analogue camp. But to me they are such subjective terms I find it hard to really sum it up in my head. In terms of a track, if it's lacking some warmth or some beef, can't the same results be achieved with a nicely sampled synth ? puremagnetiks retro synths for example?

I'm not talking about the raw unprocessed sound here, I'm talking about the whole kit and kaboodle. When you finish up your track and when everything is summed together is this "warmth and phatness" that people talk about just out of reach for the doers of digital, or is it just as easily achieved via different means and methods?

agent314

Re: Sampled analogue warmth vs the real thing?

Post by agent314 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:42 pm