Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:24 pm

stringtapper wrote:I don't want it to be a "real DAW". I want it to be the best damn host for sequencing audio and video for LIVE performance!

:x
mee too

H20nly
Posts: 15850
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by H20nly » Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:05 pm

massenmedium wrote:So Spectral Repair is OFFLINE ONLY, and Live is, well I think there just might be a clue in the name.

Yeah it would perhaps be better than not to have support for such a plugin but you can see why a real-time oriented audio engine would not have much use for something that only works in offline mode.
stop making sense. its much easier to mud sling at Ableton.***

*no coding experience necessary
*limited technical knowledge required
*only available while internet lasts

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Sibanger » Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:51 pm

hmj wrote:"Detected Host: Live

Spectral Repair is not supported in this host.

Please not that Spectral Repair is very different from most other audio plug-ins. It first needs to Capture audio from the host, then you can Repair the audio, and finally you must Commit your edits back to the host.

Unfortunately you are using Spectral Repair in a host which doesn't support offline plug-ins at all, or it doesn't support them with the sample-accuracy required by Spectral Repair.

We recommend that you use Spectral Repair in the iZotope RX application which was installed when you installed the RX plug-ins."

This is just another reason it's not used by the people who actually make BIG money in post. Ableton needs to step it up.
^^ This & the fact that Offline rendering or freezing to disk of Virus Ti tracks is not supported.
I'm going back to Acid 'Pro'....... :x

simmerdown
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Location: Northwest Nowhere

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by simmerdown » Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:59 pm

so...what are the Other supposed reasons Why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW? (which lots of pros use)

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Sibanger » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:43 pm

Live has no bezier curves. :x

All 'Pro' DAWs have bezier curves.

I can't understand how all the 'pros' using Live have managed without bezier curves.

They must not be real pros at all, just deluded bedroom hacks.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:49 pm

yeah I was listening to some music today and had to turn it off because the automation curves were so pre bezier, sounded awful.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by 3dot... » Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:31 am

Image
Image

Angstrom
Posts: 14755
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Angstrom » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:00 am

Sibanger wrote:Live has no bezier curves. :x

All 'Pro' DAWs have bezier curves.

Yeah, all the pro DAWs like ProtoolsHD have bezier automation !!!...

oh, wait a minute. :lol:

Those ProtoolsHD guys better step up their game, otherwise Reaper will be on them!

synnack
Posts: 2053
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by synnack » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:04 am

JuanSOLO wrote:yeah I was listening to some music today and had to turn it off because the automation curves were so pre bezier, sounded awful.
heh. I think the real reason so many of us don't really give a shit about bezier curves is because we use live as an instrument. I don't draw curves in Arrangement view. I play them (wait for it) LIVE by mapping a knob and performing the curve into the software.

+1 for Live as an instrument and not a "DAW"
MBP | Live 9 Suite | Max for Live | Push | MOTU Ultralite | iPad | Analog Modular Synths | Moog Voyager
aka "Tempus3r" | Music | Blog | Twitter | Soundcloud

Image

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Sibanger » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:48 am

Angstrom wrote:
Sibanger wrote:Live has no bezier curves. :x

All 'Pro' DAWs have bezier curves.

Yeah, all the pro DAWs like ProtoolsHD have bezier automation !!!...

oh, wait a minute. :lol:

Those ProtoolsHD guys better step up their game, otherwise Reaper will be on them!
I can't understand how all the 'pros' using ProtoolsHD have managed without bezier curves.

They must not be real pros at all, just deluded bedroom hacks.

Angstrom
Posts: 14755
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Angstrom » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:02 am

I think that's the case.
Those bastards have some pretty impressive bedrooms.
the deluded fools

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by Sibanger » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:50 am

Angstrom wrote:I think that's the case.
Those bastards have some pretty impressive bedrooms.
the deluded fools
With bedrooms like that, I can only begin to imagine the amount drugs they all consume.

It's no wonder the poor non pro protools users are soooo deluded. :mrgreen:

nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by nebulae » Thu Apr 19, 2012 3:09 am

It's not about the tool, but rather the skill of the artist wielding the tool.

Having said that, this is still the best tool for the artist.
Image Image Image Image

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by pencilrocket » Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:23 am

Sibanger wrote:Live has no bezier curves. :x

All 'Pro' DAWs have bezier curves.

I can't understand how all the 'pros' using Live have managed without bezier curves.

They must not be real pros at all, just deluded bedroom hacks.
Yea spline automation is must for complexed sequencing. It gives the best result with the least amount of hassle, even while working on a small screen laptop.

H20nly
Posts: 15850
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Another reason why Ableton is NOT a pro DAW

Post by H20nly » Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:21 pm

sorry if this is a little OT guys, but i was so having this problem and then decided to post here... so i was like drawing some music and found out that Live wont let me draw my music with curves... i was like 8O so, this friend of a friend of a friend was over and he says "why don't you just play it?"

what is this 'play it'?

does Live have that feature?

if so, is it MIDI or audio?

Post Reply