Canceling a Recording Take?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by filosofem » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:16 am

While recording, is it possible to cancel a recording take with either a keyboard shortcut or a menu command?

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by 3dot... » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:23 am

ctrl z
Image

filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by filosofem » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:18 pm

Hi 3dot, Undo doesn't work, Delete does however the clip must be in focus. A key command to cancel a recording take, cancels the take no matter what operation has previously been performed.

Regards.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by 3dot... » Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:27 am

hey Aaron.. sorry..
it's actually..
enter/stop(while in focus) then undo..
Image

filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by filosofem » Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:41 pm

Yeah that's your classic Undo function 3dot. If I was to enter another undo operations to the queue, undoing the take would require undoing the top two operations queued. Technically, Canceling a Recording Take functionality can be performed at any stage whilst recording. In theory, you should be able to perform multiple tasks over and above the recording take and still cancel only the recording take. For example, performing a Panning and a Volume Fader operation. Under the undo scenario the queued operations are Volume, Pan and then Record.

3dot is there an area to submit FR's?

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by 3dot... » Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:52 pm

Image

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by H20nly » Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm

what is it you're trying to accomplish?

if it's multiple takes with minimal fiddling there are record options that could help.

filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by filosofem » Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:49 am


taffmonster
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:28 am
Location: Japan... you know, ninjas n stuff
Contact:

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by taffmonster » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:03 am

filosofem wrote:FR for Canceling a Recording Take.

Thanks 3dot.
Theres a apc template that lets you do it using the shift button

filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by filosofem » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:04 am

H20nly wrote:what is it you're trying to accomplish?
Hi H2Only

In some other DAW's, the ability to cancel a recording take, without undo commands nor delete is a quick and easy way of resetting a botched take. No other commands are needed, simply hit the keyboard command to cancel the recording take and hit Record again.

filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by filosofem » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:07 am

taffmonster wrote:Theres a apc template that lets you do it using the shift button
Hi Taffmonster

APC? You're referring to AKAI APC40?

taffmonster
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:28 am
Location: Japan... you know, ninjas n stuff
Contact:

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by taffmonster » Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:43 am

filosofem wrote:
taffmonster wrote:Theres a apc template that lets you do it using the shift button
Hi Taffmonster

APC? You're referring to AKAI APC40?
Yes. Being able delete the take on the spot is very useful. As for without the apc 40 I don't know :(

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by H20nly » Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:54 pm

filosofem wrote:
H20nly wrote:what is it you're trying to accomplish?
Hi H2Only

In some other DAW's, the ability to cancel a recording take, without undo commands nor delete is a quick and easy way of resetting a botched take. No other commands are needed, simply hit the keyboard command to cancel the recording take and hit Record again.
well, i just hit the play button. that takes me back to the beginning of my loop... which is typically what i'm trying to record in. when i'm done, i 'collect all and save' which ditches the takes i did not keep.

filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by filosofem » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:01 pm

H20nly wrote:
filosofem wrote:well, i just hit the play button. that takes me back to the beginning of my loop... which is typically what i'm trying to record in. when i'm done, i 'collect all and save' which ditches the takes i did not keep.
...and the top most take is the kept take? Is that how it works with Live? H2Only.

filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: Canceling a Recording Take?

Post by filosofem » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:08 pm

Thanks taff, I have APC40 on my list to get. Being able to cancel a take with the controller only enhances the controller more. :wink:

Side note, Reason 6 as ReWire Client, will connecting two controllers (APC40 Live & Nektar P4 Reason) work? Let me rephrase that, with an APC40 with Live are there issues using a second controller with a ReWire Client?

Post Reply