microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Leejohnson222
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:09 am

microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by Leejohnson222 » Wed May 16, 2012 8:33 am

any idea how i can avoid this? didnt used to happen and now i cant load a proj i spent over 10 hours on,
the proj loads but then immediatly comes up with the error and either freezes or reverts to desktop,

the pc is fairly new and i just sent it back due to a ground loop which they changed the monther board
but i still have the ground loop so need to look at my sound card, anyway the crash is my main worry here

3dot...
Posts: 9998
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by 3dot... » Wed May 16, 2012 6:02 pm

sorry to hear that... :(
hadn't had one of those for a while..
I think contacting support will be appropriate ..
support@ableton.com
crashes@ableton.com
Image

CareyLetendre
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:52 am

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by CareyLetendre » Wed May 16, 2012 6:43 pm

For some reason i don't get those errors on my Mac.

:mrgreen:

3dot...
Posts: 9998
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by 3dot... » Wed May 16, 2012 7:32 pm

good for you...
see...one of the reasons I will probably never get an mac ..
is because of that mac user elitist attitude..
(as if macs don't crash..)
it seems like a disease.. probably spraying them laptops with cocaine..
Image

CareyLetendre
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:52 am

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by CareyLetendre » Thu May 17, 2012 3:34 am

Image

Leejohnson222
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:09 am

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by Leejohnson222 » Thu May 17, 2012 8:27 am

do you think my track will be lost? actually liked the ideas i had in this project!

Piplodocus
Posts: 791
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by Piplodocus » Thu May 17, 2012 10:28 am

Difficult to say. Are you running the latest version? If not download that and see if it works. Otherwise as tech support.

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Thu May 17, 2012 3:11 pm

Leejohnson222 wrote:any idea how i can avoid this? didnt used to happen and now i cant load a proj i spent over 10 hours on,
the proj loads but then immediatly comes up with the error and either freezes or reverts to desktop,

the pc is fairly new and i just sent it back due to a ground loop which they changed the monther board
but i still have the ground loop so need to look at my sound card, anyway the crash is my main worry here
Assuming you're using a variety of 3rd party plugins in your project, I would try moving them so that they don't load.

3dot...
Posts: 9998
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by 3dot... » Thu May 17, 2012 4:28 pm

yep... 3rd party are the first culprits..
if it continues to happen..
try dragging in 1 track at a time from the live-browser..
Image

Piplodocus
Posts: 791
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by Piplodocus » Fri May 18, 2012 10:36 am

CareyLetendre wrote:For some reason i don't get those errors on my Mac.

:mrgreen:
Neither do I. I get this one instead...
Image

...on demand, whenever I like. See my other threads about inserting tracks/scenes/instruments in currently playing songs with complicated time signature changes in session view. So far the only real answer I got from tech support is "so it does!". Guess what the first thing I try on Live 9 will be?
3dot... wrote:see...one of the reasons I will probably never get an mac .. is because of that mac user elitist attitude..
(as if macs don't crash..)
it seems like a disease.. probably spraying them laptops with cocaine..
Still, if the coke didn't make me feel smug enough, I imagine doing it of this nice brushed aluminium palm rest would make all the difference! :wink:

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: microsoft visual C++ run time library error

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Sat May 19, 2012 2:01 am

Piplodocus wrote:
CareyLetendre wrote: ...on demand, whenever I like. See my other threads about inserting tracks/scenes/instruments in currently playing songs with complicated time signature changes in session view. So far the only real answer I got from tech support is "so it does!". Guess what the first thing I try on Live 9 will be?
I will try this tonight.

Post Reply