Im a noob and i need some advice.

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
billz270

Im a noob and i need some advice.

Post by billz270 » Sat May 19, 2012 7:12 pm

Hey there..
Im a noob to ableton live.. been using a limited version and exploring the awesomeness of ableton.
I've been playing around with audio samples and got to making some of my own midi stuff...
what i want to know is how to make my own samples? I used 4 different drum instruments (kick,snare & 2 high hats) and make a 1 bar DnB loop. I want to make this an audio loop.. And i want to create my own samples and all of that.. I've read a lot of blogs and stuff.. Many producers use the word 'chopping' and im not quite sure what that is..

Please enlighten me with a few tips and tricks to get working with live better...

Also i've made some tracks of my own using GarageBand. Please check them out, tell me where i could improve on my sound.
http://soundcloud.com/staybeyond

Cheers ! :wink:

AlexRusin

Re: Im a noob and i need some advice.

Post by AlexRusin » Sat May 19, 2012 7:37 pm

Hmm, I think the best way to do this is to record everything with "Resampling" option on one of the audio tracks. You know what I mean?
I'm caught...

Rationalizer

Post by Rationalizer » Sat May 19, 2012 8:22 pm

If they are audio files, resample. If you did the loop with midi using drum rack, use "freeze" and "flatten".
WIN8.1 x64 | Suite 9.5 x64 | RME FF400 | UAD-2 | Maschine 2 | SparkLE | Mopho | Blodeld | Komplete 9 | Ebony A2 | Adam A7 | Launchpad | Waves Diamond V9 | Many VSTs

Facebook | Youtube | Soundcloud | Beatport

simmerdown

Post by simmerdown » Sat May 19, 2012 9:05 pm

this is handy too...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1r8qoy6 ... re=related

also....say you want a 4 bar loop:

set up 12 bars of it, highlight the middle 4 bars (so the reverbs and fx will wrap/loop properly)

render just that highlighted bit....

+ what has been said

billz270

Post by billz270 » Thu May 24, 2012 6:13 am