Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by H20nly » Sat May 26, 2012 10:18 pm

beatmunga wrote:
acatcalledanarchy wrote: H20nly, have you seen Dead Man's Shoes..? Filmed in Matlock and Riber Castle, check it out, probably the best ever British Indie film.
Totally agree - Meadows' meisterwerk.

nice. i'll check it out.


@ crumhorn - it was run down when i was in school there. i used to have to run cross country all the way up that hill, right past its front entrance. i remember that it had been a (small) zoo, but i don't believe the animals were still around. i was in England a few times as a small boy... once when Charles and Diana's wedding was taking place. if i ever went to the castle when the zoo was in it... that would have been the time.

and yeah... that minx story seems to ring a bell.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by H20nly » Mon May 28, 2012 3:34 am

acatcalledanarchy wrote: H20nly, have you seen Dead Man's Shoes..? Filmed in Matlock and Riber Castle, check it out, probably the best ever British Indie film.
watched it today, it was pretty damn good. :D

i did not expect the twist near the end regarding the fate of the little brother... or the older one for that matter. well done. and yeah, the landscape and country side brought back memories. that is indeed the spot i used to run past. thanks for the heads up!

WhatTheXD
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:14 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by WhatTheXD » Mon May 28, 2012 9:36 am

Wow, thank GOD!

I hardly ever come onto the forum, but I felt as if I had to post a topic. Luckily, it seems as if the subject at hand seems to be alive and strong.

First off, I love Ableton in all it's simplistic, aesthetic, and intuitive glory. Thank you Ableton, so much, for the work you have put into making such an awesome program.

However, as history has shown, a chain is only as strong as it's weakest link, and, Ableton, I'm sorry, but you guys SERIOUSLY need to up the standard.
I was 90% finished with my remix for a contest when, low and behold, a memory bottle neck crashed Ableton to a point where I could NO LONGER open the live set without the program crashing.
I've been bottle necked for 2 weeks and I missed the contest deadline.
I paid nearly $800 for this program and I did so because it was recommended to me by a friend who told me that Ableton is of the highest quality when it comes DAW's.

Enough of this rant, I think you get the point, but allow me to make another.

Ableton, like I said before, I love you, but I need a music production program that is going to be able to keep up with me. I've tried out the others- Fruity Loops, Reason, Cubase- but none of them can match the flow of artistry that is Ableton. However, I must be able to FINISH my music, and, Ableton, as of right now, you're not getting a checkered flag.

Please, Ableton, heed this message. I want to once again tell my friends and associates how great Ableton is.

WE NEED A VERSION OF ABLETON THAT IS 64-BIT COMPATIBLE!
WE NEED A VERSION OF ABLETON THAT IS 64-BIT COMPATIBLE!
WE NEED A VERSION OF ABLETON THAT IS 64-BIT COMPATIBLE!
WE NEED A VERSION OF ABLETON THAT IS 64-BIT COMPATIBLE!
WE NEED A VERSION OF ABLETON THAT IS 64-BIT COMPATIBLE!

doom_Oo7
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by doom_Oo7 » Mon May 28, 2012 11:28 am

a memory bottle neck crashed Ableton to a point where I could NO LONGER open the live set without the program crashing.
I have this problem often... For me the workaround is to open a new live set and then import the tracks of the other set with the file manager and removing the "memory hog" ones.
You loos what's on the master track but it's not a big deal generally...
Ossia Score, an OSC sequencer for intermedia arts - http://www.ossia.io

golemus
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:26 am

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by golemus » Mon May 28, 2012 12:57 pm

Fanu wrote:Yup.

I love Ableton to bits, I really do, but when building live sets, that IS annoying.
I'll celebrate for a week when we get 64-bit.
I will be celebrating for a month when it actually works as a decent DAW should, was it 32 or 64 bit
Fanu wrote: (TIP: after finishing your first set, simply kill the process instead of loading the next set; then boot Ableton again and load your second set...saves you a lot of time because it takes Live ages to cope with loading the 2nd set if the 1st one is in the memory)
I can confirm this and it is one of the most annoying design flaws of Live. Although I cannot use this tip because sometimes Live wont die even if I try to kill it

mech2161
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:53 am

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by mech2161 » Tue May 29, 2012 3:03 am

I see all this, I want 64 bit, no keep it 32 bit. What I want is some real support. Doesn't matter what you have if it's not supported.
I changed lap tops a few months ago and was having real problems. With all the crash files and OS information they couldn't tell me that Windows 7 Home Premium was only 64 bit and was causing the problem. I figured it out and went to Windows 7 Professional. It will do 32 and 64 bit.
Don't get me wrong I love using Ableton. I don't do the Techno, disco scene. Its live instruments and vocals. A little love this way would be appreciated.

XSIMan
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by XSIMan » Tue May 29, 2012 8:46 pm

32bit DAWs limit us to 3.2GB of RAM go over that and it's crash. Jbridge helps us out with that.

I read somewhere that running 32bit software on a 64bit OS looses some performance.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by H20nly » Tue May 29, 2012 10:15 pm

Fanu wrote:I love Ableton to bits
:lol:

tintala
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by tintala » Wed May 30, 2012 6:18 pm

At least give us an option LIKE PROPS. 32 or 64 bit......... I would choose 64 bit to use the RAM allocated for.....................64 bit. but I think Support is on permanent vacation, no one works there anymore. I have yet to have a support issue answered, ever!!! WTF?


64 bit PALLLLLLLLLLLEEEEEEEAASE! :mrgreen:

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by pencilrocket » Thu May 31, 2012 8:07 am

WhatTheXD wrote:*hyped guy's whining*
buy jbridge.
Image

mech2161
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:53 am

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by mech2161 » Thu May 31, 2012 12:49 pm

tintala wrote:At least give us an option LIKE PROPS. 32 or 64 bit......... I would choose 64 bit to use the RAM allocated for.....................64 bit. but I think Support is on permanent vacation, no one works there anymore. I have yet to have a support issue answered, ever!!! WTF?


64 bit PALLLLLLLLLLLEEEEEEEAASE! :mrgreen:

All I can say is they did respond. Answer.... no.

errorspending
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 5:35 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by errorspending » Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:56 pm

My usual work around for sets that crash immediately upon loading is to remove one or more of your most memory intensive Vst plugins from your directory that are used in the crashed set. This will allow you to open without crashing and freeze tracks or remove things so you can continue working and then move your plugins back into your vst folder.

errorspending
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 5:35 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by errorspending » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:43 am

OMG I just bought Jbridge and this is amaaaazing. I don't even have a 64 bit operating system, but I didn't realize when I read about Jbridge before that you can use it simply to access the other 1.5 GB of RAM on a 32 bit OS, because in XP32 each process can only use about 2 GB of RAM before maxing out, not the whole 3.5 GB.

So, thank you for mentioning it!

Simon12345
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by Simon12345 » Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:27 pm

pencilrocket wrote:
WhatTheXD wrote:*hyped guy's whining*
buy jbridge.

jbridge also causes loads of crashes and many automizations for example from Native Instruments Plugins don't work.
It is a nice workaround, but not an alternative.

I think it is a pitty, that no one of Ableton is answering in this thread...
A none 64 bit Ableton Live can not be considered as a professional tool...it begins to crash when you load two state of the art sample drums into it.

This is only frustrating and I am really looking forward to Bitwig Studio, and if that sucks I will have to go back to Logic.

I just don't get how a whole company can be so strange about the information it gives out to all of their customers.
WHY SINCE YEARS NO WORD ON WHEN??? WHYY???

64 bit is not a hidden great thing that someone could copy from Live as it is revealed when it will come.
So come on and do yourself a favour, the silence otherwise can only mean, that it will still take a looooooong time.

I am working on my album and it is driving me nuts, that I have to think in Ressources when writing a song, in times when I have a 64 bit PC with 8GB Ram. stupid...

sorry, but this was truth!
:cry:

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Dear Ableton, 64 BIT SUPPORT . NOW . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :*(

Post by H20nly » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:38 pm

yeah all of Pink Floyd's albums sucked before they got 64 bit. you can totally tell when Daft Punk got it too.

Post Reply