padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
bartend7
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 am
Contact:

padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by bartend7 » Fri May 25, 2012 6:25 pm

i have a padkontrol. i have changed the midi notes in the software to move chromatically. The notes read correctly and will play with any instrument fine except drum rack. For drum rack everything works with the first 12 notes. but C3 (the 13th note) will play as C2, C#3 will play as E2, D3 is fine, and D#3 plays as F.

I have no idea why this is happening. i've turned all other devices off and the problem still persists. before i changed the note, the padkontrol would read whatever was in view in the drumrack grid fine. but now with the "correct" notes programmed, it doesnt work.

has anyone else had this problem? your my only hope abes as the korg forum is super weak.

garyboozy
Posts: 2601
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by garyboozy » Fri May 25, 2012 6:45 pm

in Live, Drumracks start on C1, which corresponds to C2 on the padkontol.
just set up your padkontrol to run chromatically from C2 upwards to work properly with Drumracks.

garyboozy
Posts: 2601
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by garyboozy » Sat May 26, 2012 8:51 am

Sorry read the post wrong
Have you checked the note mappings for those 4 pads in the Drumrack?

bartend7
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by bartend7 » Sat May 26, 2012 9:16 am

garyboozy wrote:Sorry read the post wrong
Have you checked the note mappings for those 4 pads in the Drumrack?
yes, I even made a brand new scene with the padkontrol editor, but the problem still persists.

garyboozy
Posts: 2601
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by garyboozy » Sat May 26, 2012 10:58 am

send me the drumrack and the pK scene if you want me to check, see if the same happens here... ?

alexxsawyer
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by alexxsawyer » Sat May 26, 2012 12:43 pm

Im having the same issue with my pad kontrol aswell. I also have a few dead notes in random places on the piano roll screen that i simply cant get to work i wrote it off as a minor detail but i would love to find a fix also.

bartend7
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by bartend7 » Sat May 26, 2012 4:26 pm

garyboozy wrote:send me the drumrack and the pK scene if you want me to check, see if the same happens here... ?

this will happen with any drumrack, even an empty one.

mothergarage
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by mothergarage » Sat May 26, 2012 6:38 pm

do you have a control surface selected for your padcontrol?
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

bartend7
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by bartend7 » Sat May 26, 2012 7:17 pm

yes padkontrol is selected as control surface nd all setings as per manual

mothergarage
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by mothergarage » Sat May 26, 2012 7:55 pm

well then my guess is that the control surface script translates the incoming notes to fit the drumrack. the script expects different notes than what the padcontrol is sending now. try disabling the script if you don't need it.
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

bartend7
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by bartend7 » Wed May 30, 2012 6:28 am

mothergarage wrote:well then my guess is that the control surface script translates the incoming notes to fit the drumrack. the script expects different notes than what the padcontrol is sending now. try disabling the script if you don't need it.

script disabled, and everything works ok. thanks for such an easy solution. i'm a dumb ass. For some reason i though the padkontrol wouldnt respond without the script. thanks again.

marcreck
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:51 pm

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by marcreck » Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:18 pm

Just found this after searching for hours for the same problem. Thanks for the solution / reason mother garage!

Would love to be able to use scene 1's automapping to drum rack inside the square functionality, and map scene 2 - 8 to all the midi notes so that i can play a drum rack from bottom to top by switching scenes, though from what ive read this isnt possible. If anyone knows a way of doing this please let me know, otherwise I guess switching scenes is as good as moving the square.

yur2die4
Posts: 6435
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by yur2die4 » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:16 pm

Use a different midi channel for the chromatic ones.

Logan.mccallum
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 12:52 am

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by Logan.mccallum » Thu May 02, 2013 12:53 am

I'm really glad I found this. I was working late last night on a set and the last thing I did was turn ON the control surface script. I woke up today thinking I'd gone crazy as certain pads were sending notes entirely different to what I had assigned on the padKontrol. I was ready to write it off and sell it, but turning off the control surface script worked perfectly. Thank you.

darkenedsoul
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:21 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Contact:

Re: padkontrol issue with drumrack but not other instruments?

Post by darkenedsoul » Thu May 02, 2013 4:31 pm

OK, gonna ask a stupid question, where are you turning this on/off? I have a padKontrol as well but has seen very VERY little use...

Thanks,

Mike
http://www.darkenedsoul.net - main website
Ableton Live 8.x/9.x : NI Komplete 8 : Home built 4690K 16GB 500GB SSD, 1TB 7200, 2x2TB.

Post Reply