Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
chapelier fou
Posts: 5189
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by chapelier fou » Mon May 28, 2012 4:25 pm

What does '32' mean ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by 3dot... » Mon May 28, 2012 10:29 pm

32 bit fo life yo...
Image
Image


rydn
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:21 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by rydn » Tue May 29, 2012 1:13 am

72 bit is the real business.

Seriously though, no one works at Ableton any more, right?

Ub373NNN
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by Ub373NNN » Tue May 29, 2012 1:00 pm

kitekrazy wrote:
Ub373NNN wrote:everything go on 64 bit, then companys going to push on the envelope and take on 64 bit capobilitys to the limit and we go to run out of power avalaible on us. then what?

the softwares reqirements are way to moving too fast. i no it. and you no it.
One of these reason why Reaper became popular is that it's resource efficient. Some 64 bit apps like Studio One will only run 64 bit VSTs.
this is what go scare on me. i have of arsenal of the vsts like 500gb harddrive full on it. so if all abelton goes 64,at least make my old vsts make to work. but we sit above the edge on my seat to go wait.

puzzlefactory
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by puzzlefactory » Tue May 29, 2012 1:49 pm

Most developers give away 64 bit versions of their pluggins as a free update so you won't have to worry about your VSTs not working. Also most companies that have gone 64 bit give you the option of opening the app in 32 bit mode, I'm sure Ableton will do the same.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by 3dot... » Tue May 29, 2012 2:04 pm

fear not...
ableton only needs to implement a wrapper for 32bit plugs..
http://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridge/
Image

JBlongz
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by JBlongz » Tue May 29, 2012 4:22 pm

How about we release Live 9 Only for Windows 95 and Mac OS 6. Who needs the future when it instantly becomes past. Pass the blunt while you're at it.
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube

AgentGomez
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:05 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by AgentGomez » Tue May 29, 2012 5:39 pm

No way in heck im going back to 32bit. this guy is crazy !!

Rationalizer
Posts: 1307
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:14 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by Rationalizer » Tue May 29, 2012 5:42 pm

Want to get warmer sound?

Image
WIN8.1 x64 | Suite 9.5 x64 | RME FF400 | UAD-2 | Maschine 2 | SparkLE | Mopho | Blodeld | Komplete 9 | Ebony A2 | Adam A7 | Launchpad | Waves Diamond V9 | Many VSTs

Facebook | Youtube | Soundcloud | Beatport

JBlongz
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by JBlongz » Tue May 29, 2012 5:45 pm

Rationalizer wrote:Want to get warmer sound?

Image

Put the lid on to get some nice compression.
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube

cpyatak
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:44 pm
Location: Vermont

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by cpyatak » Tue May 29, 2012 6:36 pm

JBlongz wrote:
Rationalizer wrote:Want to get warmer sound?

Image

Put the lid on to get some nice compression.
Who needs to Make Beats when you can Bake Meats?

JBlongz
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by JBlongz » Tue May 29, 2012 8:14 pm

:lol:
rMBP Quad 2.8GHz, 16GB, 1TB SSD | UAD Apollo 8
JBlongz YouTube

Ub373NNN
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by Ub373NNN » Tue May 29, 2012 10:13 pm

and on another thing i may go add, how the projects we go have now go to effect opening all up in a 64bit versian of abelton 9 ? how to sort all that out is to confuse me all the more.

tintala
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: Dear Ableton, KEEP IT 32 BIT . PLEASE!!! PLEASEEE! :-)

Post by tintala » Wed May 30, 2012 6:14 pm

Reason 6 has an option , you can run it either in 32 or 64 bit... but would rather use the RAM allocated for 64 bit. ..So 64 bit it is. at least give use the option like Props does.

Post Reply