Your opinion will change my future

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ryryry203

Your opinion will change my future

Post by ryryry203 » Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:54 am

I am a producer out of NYC trained in Studio production but I have never stepped into live performance. I have the opportunity of a lifetime, opening for an artist that rhymes with wife rardy, but this is in a couple months. They, the people that offered me the gig, think I know how to do live performance based on my studio material. I have exactly six months to get what I need and learn my ass off...my budget is about $2,000.

...I don't have a clue about live performance...

I am completely based in Ableton, I own an APC-40 and a Trigger Finger along with a home studio consisting of KRK Rokit 8's and a USB keyboard, and a Behringer vmx1000 dj mixer (but i hate it and only use it for my speakers...i think it actually hurts my sound quality)

I have a 17" macbook pro juiced out due to the nerd I originally got it off of (800GB memory) and its up to date with Lion and is from late 2011 so the thing is beautiful and I have Ableton Suite along with Massive.

So...what do I do?

I have been told to get the Xone:92 which I liked over the 900nexus but then I was told all I need is a Soundcard and a Midi Controller. I have no idea really how to get all my tools routed correctly and I was told by a third person id have to use traktor.

Im not listening to them anymore, I am listening to you. What should I get?

On the 10 scale...Id say I am a 8.5 on Ableton and a 9 on Massive. I need to send some guy a recorded demo of myself djing (fading in/out, effects, etc) to prove to him I can handle myself by October or they find someone else. Help?

pencilrocket

Re: Your opinion will change my future

Post by pencilrocket » Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:14 am