External hardware effects advice.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
evernaut
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 2:55 am
Location: Jorvik
Contact:

External hardware effects advice.

Post by evernaut » Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:23 pm

Just wondering if someone may be able to help me solve an external effects problem. I've never used the dedicated plugin for this in Live before and I'm struggling a bit.
I'm wanting to use my Joe Meek VC3Q hardware compressor in the mix, so I have routed the out on the back of the unit to input 3 on my M-Audio Profire 610. Then I have routed output 4 on the 610 to the line input of my VC3Q.
Then I created a return track in Live 8 and dragged an external fx plug to it - in the control section I set 'audio to' to channel 4 and 'from' to channel 3.
All I hear is a nasty feedback loop when i turn the output level of the VC3Q presumably because both signals are being sent to the master output at once. When I select 'sends only' I don't hear anything.

Any thoughts/help/advice greatly appreciated. Ta.

divonic
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:40 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: External hardware effects advice.

Post by divonic » Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:32 pm

I think I might know what your problem is.

first don't worry about the sends at the moment. Drop the external effect plugin into the track that you want to compress. You set the I/O on the plugin itself, not in the routing section of the track or channel strip (or return) that you are in. The routing for the channel should be audio to: master.

basically you have an audio track that you can hear out of your mains. drop the external effect as if you would any other ableton effect. Set the routing in the external effect and if the correct routing was chosen the signal path would be channel to external effect which routs the audio out of a secondary out on your sound card to your effect and back to the effect and then out from the channel to the master.

If you do this does the problem go away? or are you still getting feedback? If you have no feedback can you hear the effect working? If everything seems to be working correctly save the external effect state as joe meek or something. for future use.

When you setup the send, the send I/O in the routing section should be Master for Audio to and No input for Audio from. here's a link that might help http://en.wikiaudio.org/Ableton_Live:Ex ... cts_set_up

I'd be interested to hear what other people do but I never use EQ or compression on a send, rather I use it as an insert (see the above link) I use sends when I have one effect that I want at differing levels on multiple channels. reverb or something.

evernaut
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 2:55 am
Location: Jorvik
Contact:

Re: External hardware effects advice.

Post by evernaut » Wed Jun 06, 2012 4:55 pm

Hey - thanks for taking the time to reply. Will give it a shot...think I may have sussed it now.
And, yes you're right, compressors work much better as track inserts, but just playing around. Strangely, after arseing about for a couple of hours with the hardware, I decided that my plugin compressors sound much better...but the VC3Q may have its uses on certain things.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: External hardware effects advice.

Post by 3dot... » Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:18 pm

it's your profire driver mixer settings.. i think...
(the live master track could be feeding the compressor..somehow...then sent back to live via the Return..creating feedback)
Image

evernaut
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 2:55 am
Location: Jorvik
Contact:

Re: External hardware effects advice.

Post by evernaut » Thu Jun 07, 2012 4:21 pm

3dot... wrote:it's your profire driver mixer settings.. i think...
Yep...exactly what it was!

Post Reply