All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Xone:92 or Pioneer 900 Nexus? (EDM Producer)
Xone:92 75%  75%  [ 3 ]
Pioneer 900 Nexus 25%  25%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 4
Author Message
 Post subject: The idea of using Ableton as your master software
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 4:02 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:40 pm
Posts: 17
So I have Ableton Suite and I am trying to produce EDM, this part is not too hard, but the real question is how do I DJ what I have made in studio?

I have an M-Audio Trigger Finger which I would like to put sets into for live performance, APC-40 as a midi controller that id also like to use live, and my 17" macbook pro. I want to purchase a Xone:92 over the DJM-900 Nexus simply because I like the EQ and setup of the allen and heath and the effects on the 900 are something I could just add into the set before doing live (so I think).

The real question is...Can I use the Xone 92 and the APC-40 through ableton or do I need a program like Traktor? Can I use both(APC-40 & xone) at all? Is the Xone 92 the right choice for what I'm looking to do or do I have to get the Pioneer?

What Im looking to do is essentially mix what I made in Studio and add effect while smoothly transitioning. I love the APC-40 and ableton is my program for everything I do. I have never even used another Dj program (not that I wouldn't know how to) and I have found I can do everything through ableton. But I feel that I need a real mixer beyond the APC-40 especially because I am going to be DJing going between two macs very soon.

Thanks for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The idea of using Ableton as your master software
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 4:12 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 1523
Location: NYC
Those are both way more expensive than you need, and the wrong tools for the job. They represent top notch dj mixers for CDs or turntables.

You will need a midi controller (for tactile control) and a soundcard (likely a 2 in, 4 output) so you can cue on one stereo pair, and send the rest to the master.

_________________
http://turrbotax.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The idea of using Ableton as your master software
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:02 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 7:31 pm
Posts: 2622
Location: The Lounge
Quote:
But I feel that I need a real mixer beyond the APC-40 especially because I am going to be DJing going between two macs very soon.


don't even try with 2 macs if you can't for now handle just one...

you don't need external mixer, live is a mixer too. Your apc40 IS designed to make what you wanna do inside live alone. Check apc40 and live videos, there are tons of useful threads on this forum alone too :wink:

The allen heath EQ is indeed cool but live's EQs are great too once you're familiar with' em.


Live and your actual gear is all what you need, just practice, test, and watch tons of useful tutorial videos

good luck

_________________
VOLT OFFICIAL
VOLT on Soudcloud
Monstre Jumo on Soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The idea of using Ableton as your master software
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:06 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm
Posts: 679
Third person saying you have what you need already. Except an audio interface, since you haven't mentioned one :wink:

You'll need that to do cueing, plug in headphones, etc.

_________________
Motif XF, Evolver, Moog Voyager, Live9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The idea of using Ableton as your master software
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:23 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 12976
Location: Seattle
Seriously man, hunt around here:

http://abletonlivedj.com

All the info you need for using what you already have. It's capable of more than pro-level results, no need to spend all that money when you don't even know what YOU want.

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com Professional Mastering - Mixdowns - Track Consulting. Click for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The idea of using Ableton as your master software
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:24 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9959
doghouse wrote:
Third person saying you have what you need already. Except an audio interface, since you haven't mentioned one :wink:

You'll need that to do cueing, plug in headphones, etc.

yeah you'd probably need a way to get sound TO the mixer..... or get a mixer/audio interface model
http://www.allen-heath.com/uk/Products/ ... &SubCatId=
http://www.mackie.com/products/d4pro/

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group