From Zero8 to... (ZED R16, 01V96, SL 16.4.2)

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.

Which mixer would you choose for studio and live prerformances with Ableton and hardware?

Allen & Heath ZED R16
67%
Yamaha 01V96
33%
Presonus Studio Live 16.4.2
No votes

Total votes: 3

Raptorecki

From Zero8 to... (ZED R16, 01V96, SL 16.4.2)

Post by Raptorecki » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:16 am

Hello Everybody!

I've been using my Korg Zero 8 for about four years now both live on stage and in my home studio. It turned out to be quite unreliable (although I was lucky enough that it never really fucked-up on stage, if it did, it did so in the studio; on the other hand I had it replaced twice and repaired another 4 times) and sloooooow (4.5ms of latency + 9ms of ASIO buffer is the lowest I can get on my i7-720/8GB RAM and it sometimes gets really unstable with those settings) but it is _really_ fun to use. Honestly, joined with Ableton, ESX and Blofeld it provided workflow that would keep me playing and playing and I never wanted to stop... It is ridiculously addictive and natural to use, things I appreciate in hardware. But now it's time to switch to something solid, reliable and 16x mono instead of 8x stereo (it more flexible this way).

Basically I know my needs and what I'm trying to do with the hardware so I narrowed down my choices to three mixers. I just want you guys to write what you think and maybe drop some useful hints and thoughts on the subject.