APPLYING DIFFERENT FX TO DIFFERENT CLIPS IN THE SAME TRACK

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

APPLYING DIFFERENT FX TO DIFFERENT CLIPS IN THE SAME TRACK

Post by Sebastian » Sun Mar 27, 2005 1:03 am

Ive been digging in manual...........but....... cant seem to find....

Suppose I have 2 different guitar riffs/clips on the same track....

Can I apply different effects to each clip so that they have their rown effects without affecting the other? Or do effects affect all clips in the same track?

thanks [/b]
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

Diskclaimer
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:59 am
Location: Danbury, CT
Contact:

Post by Diskclaimer » Sun Mar 27, 2005 1:04 am

ummmmmmm......................That would be a hell no. :D :P

rerecord the clips with the desired effects

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Sun Mar 27, 2005 1:09 am

......i suspected that would be the answer.

in that case, can you suggest what is the best way to "clone" that track, so that I may keep the settings of the track shared by the two clips.....?
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

David_T
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 8:16 am
Location: US - portland, OR

Post by David_T » Sun Mar 27, 2005 1:49 am

Well it depends on your effects.
If one of them has a parameter that effectively turns the effect on and off (like wet/dry amount in Reverb) then you can use an automation envelope in the clip to turn that parameter up (having turned the knob on the effect to zero) for just that clip.

Easiest to just bounce the audio clip with effect to another track, though.

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:19 am

how do I bounce to clip?
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

Pitch Black
Posts: 6450
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:25 am

Its in the manual under Render

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:27 am

thanks, ill read up
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

AdamJay
Posts: 4757
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Post by AdamJay » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:34 am

David_T is right, this IS possible with the clip envelope editor.

lets say you have a Reverb and Simple Delay on Track 1.

and you have 2 clips, "Guitar Lick 1" and "Guitar Lick 2" in that track.

you want Guitar Lick 1 to get a wash of Reverb, but Guitar Lick 2 you only want to get Simple Delay.

so for Guitar Lick 1, go into the Envelope editor for that clip
select Simple Delay, and then Select Dry/Wet - now draw the envelope for that clip all the way down (-50% = totally dry for delay). Now Guitar Lick 1 gets no Delay, and only Reverb.

Guitar Lick 2, go into the Envelope editor for that clip
select Reverb, and then Select Dry/Wet - now draw the envelope for that clip all the way down (0.00% = totally dry for reverb). Now Guitar Lick 2 gets no Reverb, and only Delay.

AdamJay
Posts: 4757
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Post by AdamJay » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:35 am

and Sebastian, whats up with ALL THE CAPS ?

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:36 am

.....whats up with them.....? what do you mean?
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

AdamJay
Posts: 4757
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Post by AdamJay » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:49 am

Sebastian wrote:Post subject: APPLYING DIFFERENT FX TO DIFFERENT CLIPS IN THE SAME TRACK
why the Caps? to many on here it would seem you are YELLING.
:wink:

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:52 am

i got lazy. sorry, forgot! :)
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:10 am

damn, that was a very helpful explanation Adam Jay! thanks!!!!!!!!! Let me mess with the enevlopes.

As far as bouncing to track, Id still like to know......how
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:16 am

juts tried that. absolutely amazing! thanks again

can we only draw on the track clip and never in the clip view at bottom?
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

AdamJay
Posts: 4757
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Post by AdamJay » Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:16 am

bouncing a track:


play back only the clip you want to "bounce" (aka "resample)

open a new Audio Channel, set the input to "Resample"
record into a new clip.. now your new clip is just audio, all FX, envelope changes, etc. are recorded into the new clip - and you can play it back as:is.

Chapter 13, Section 6 of the Live 4 Manual.
:)

Post Reply