Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
digid
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:29 pm

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by digid » Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:43 pm

Listen to my lovely electroacoustics on Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/digidada

dazzer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by dazzer » Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:56 pm

What happens if some of your plugs are still not 64 bit?

digid
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:29 pm

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by digid » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:01 pm

dazzer wrote:What happens if some of your plugs are still not 64 bit?
That's when Ableton has to give you the bad news:

"All 64-bit plug-ins can be used in the 64-bit version. 32-bit plug-ins cannot be used directly in the 64-bit version, but there are third-party tools (such as jBridge) that will allow 32-bit VST plug-ins to be used within the 64-bit version."

There is no jBridge-like solution for Mac, AFAIK.
Listen to my lovely electroacoustics on Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/digidada

Ableton_David
Posts: 1766
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Ableton
Contact:

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by Ableton_David » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:02 pm

dazzer wrote:What happens if some of your plugs are still not 64 bit?
Any third-party plug-ins will need to be 64-bit in order to work with Live 8 64-bit. Learn more about this and about other third-party "bridge" options here: http://www.ableton.com/articles/can-i-u ... rsion-live

dazzer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by dazzer » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:07 pm

^^ Aha.

And I'm on a Mac and there's no jBridge for Mac (EDIT: apart from a beta). Any Mac alternatives?

nileshk
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by nileshk » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:25 pm

garyboozy wrote:8.4 could be a paid update. Hope not. Would lead to moaning the likes of which we've never seen before. but Ableton did it before with the 5.2 update (universal binary update after the mac intel switchover).
They've confirmed that 8.4 will be a free update:

https://twitter.com/ableton/status/220521747798175745

Ableton_David
Posts: 1766
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Ableton
Contact:

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by Ableton_David » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:26 pm

nileshk wrote:
garyboozy wrote:8.4 could be a paid update. Hope not. Would lead to moaning the likes of which we've never seen before. but Ableton did it before with the 5.2 update (universal binary update after the mac intel switchover).
They've confirmed that 8.4 will be a free update:

https://twitter.com/ableton/status/220521747798175745
Yes - the stable release of Live 8.4 will be a free update.

ze2be
Posts: 3463
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by ze2be » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:29 pm

Awesome! :)

Fanu
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by Fanu » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:32 pm

This is an awesome step in the very right direction!
Not lying one bit when i say i will down a celebratory drink when i get to install the fully functional, full version!
I'm HYPED!
Image
Mastering & mixing by Fanu | Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Mixing and mastering engineer | Ableton Certified Trainer

booksofbokonon
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Louisville Ky

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by booksofbokonon » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:55 pm

@dazzer:

Vienna Ensemble Pro works great as a bridge in my PT sets. I would think it would work nicely in ableton

dazzer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by dazzer » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:59 pm

booksofbokonon wrote:@dazzer:

Vienna Ensemble Pro works great as a bridge in my PT sets. I would think it would work nicely in ableton
Thanks for the tip, it does look cool but...


mmmmmmm, v pricey and a dongle as well, ouch.

Any other, more jbridge-like apps?

marcoskohler
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:13 am

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by marcoskohler » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:08 pm

nice nice...waiting for max for live to work in 64-bit since I use that alot for modulation.

square7
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by square7 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:13 pm

This is the best news all year!

But please Ableton, please enable some native 32-bit plugin bridge for the final release of the new 64-bit live.

Unfortunately many plugins are still 32-bit only. So this isn't really much use....YET

But it's a step in the right direction, and for that I am grateful. Time to pop some
champagne and celebrate.

This also means Live 9 will be better than we expected! The Abe's are hard at work :D

Hielo Patagonia Sounds
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 11:47 am
Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
Contact:

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by Hielo Patagonia Sounds » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:25 pm

This 64 bits update is a move in the right direction !

:D

Hédi K.

ttilberg
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by ttilberg » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:46 pm

Before I read the main parts of forum, I saw the release notes for the newest versions, including the beta, and I lolled myself all the way to funky town.

It's funny, I feel like with all the people acting like psychos towards ableton about this, they definitely should have waited bust it out on live 9, and make some cash on it.

Instead, its free. Very cool, and extremely unexpected.

Now everyone gets to have aneurysms regarding the implications.

I'll go back to sticking with my 32bit, where I know everything works totally sweet. :)
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5

Post Reply