Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:38 pm

JuanSOLO wrote:so how do you get it see your VST's?
On OSX, currently the system VST folder can not be seen by Live 64 bit. Easiest thing to do is to either copy all your plug-ins into a new folder and set that as your VST custom folder. It will see this folder and the 64 bit VSTs in it.
Professional Shark Jumper.

kitekrazy
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by kitekrazy » Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:50 pm

I still have apps that are 32 bits that use VST.
I've learned to keep my 32 and 64 bit VSTs in different folders because some 32 bit apps will crash when they scan 64 bit VSTs. More apps should allow for multiple VST folders. Sonar, Reaper and Sony software allow for this.

nuxnamon
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:59 pm
Location: 650 area

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by nuxnamon » Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:47 pm

question about beta releases..

let's say this beta release is usuable and you do a fair amount of work on it.. once the bugs are fixed and they do a formal release of the 64 bit version, will it open sets done on beta versions?

Tone Deft
Posts: 23643
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Jul 06, 2012 9:41 pm

excuses... :lol:

historically speaking you should be fine but save off what you already have as an old revision to go back to.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

mihai
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by mihai » Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:16 pm

getting a 6% cpu usage improvement between 8.3.2 and 8.4.1 with the live 8 performance test.

now waiting for the stable release to natively support x86 vsts.

Tysonviolin
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:12 am
Contact:

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by Tysonviolin » Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:55 pm

Just spent 5 hours updating my current sets to 8.4.1 whew!
Sets can be much larger now which is nice, but cpu usage is minimally better.
Now I can justify a new Macbook Pro :P

Rationalizer
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:14 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Live 8 gets 64bit support.

Post by Rationalizer » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:33 pm

Tysonviolin wrote:Just spent 5 hours updating my current sets to 8.4.1 whew!
Sets can be much larger now which is nice, but cpu usage is minimally better.
Now I can justify a new Macbook Pro :P
Haha, yeah. This free update cost me only a new SSD harddrive so I consider myself lucky.
WIN8.1 x64 | Suite 9.5 x64 | RME FF400 | UAD-2 | Maschine 2 | SparkLE | Mopho | Blodeld | Komplete 9 | Ebony A2 | Adam A7 | Launchpad | Waves Diamond V9 | Many VSTs

Facebook | Youtube | Soundcloud | Beatport

Post Reply