Is music theory a prerequisite or can you learn as you go

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Jeremy W.

Is music theory a prerequisite or can you learn as you go

Post by Jeremy W. » Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:59 am

Hello all,
I'm very new to music production. I've started asking a few people I could on Twitter about getting started. I had one guy tell me to pick up music theory as it will make life easier. It makes sense but it's also quite a comprehensive thing to learn. I mean, there are degrees in music theory so I know there is more to it than someone's blog. I also bought a book, at the suggestion of others, called Dance Music Manual which appears to cover some music theory. My question is in the title but I'll ask it again: Is music theory something you have to know before you get started or is it something you can pick up as you go?

Take care,

Jeremy

JuanSOLO

Re: Is music theory a prerequisite or can you learn as you go

Post by JuanSOLO » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:26 am

I got into music because I loved bands like Sonic Youth, and some of my favorite music is created by people with zero music theory.

simmerdown

Post by simmerdown » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:50 am

since music theory is something you will never get to the end of, i would say "learn as you go'

or not all, just get started producing and you'll know how much or how little you want/need...def no rules

trevox

Post by trevox » Tue Jul 10, 2012 2:06 am