Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
SKerkewitz
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Cologne/Germany

Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by SKerkewitz » Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:09 pm

When i draw a pitch bend automation into a midi clip and then click "Clear Envelope" the visual envelope line is flat again but i can still hear the pitch bend modulation is still active. I have to click a new point in the flat line to make the pitch bend actual go away.

However, on volume and pitch envelopes it works as expected: "Clear Envelop" and the automation is no longer audible.

Bug?!

Have it in both 8.3.2 and 8.4b2 on Win Vista x64.
Edit: The same with 8.3.3.

SKerkewitz
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:17 pm
Location: Cologne/Germany

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by SKerkewitz » Sun Jul 15, 2012 8:52 pm

Right now I just wonder if no one else has that issue or if it's a known issue and no one cares. :)

sporkles
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by sporkles » Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:18 pm

It's a known issue, and we care. ;) What happens is that Live remembers the last played automated value for the PB, so that if an un-automated clip follows a clip that ended with automated PB, the PB will be stuck at whatever value the previous clip ended on. The same thing happens if you stop playback in the middle of a PB, and restart playback on a clip with no PB automation.

It's really frustrating, and I can't see how it can be so hard to reset the pitch bend if no automation is present.

The painstaking workaround is to do as you've already figured: draw a dummy automation which ends back at 0, play through it, and then clear the envelope.

ShelLuser
Posts: 4030
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by ShelLuser » Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:52 pm

Can't reproduce on 8.3 and I somehow doubt that they'd add this as a new feature ;-)

Anyway, right now I'm planning to upgrade upcoming Thursday evening, I'll keep this in mind and try again with the latest Live.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

broc
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by broc » Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:17 am

One may argue that the user is responsible for the controller states at clip transitions.
But 'reset at stop' should definitely be implemented by the system.
I've experienced this problem in particular with the sustain pedal (cc64).

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by Sibanger » Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:14 am

When working with several pitch bend envelopes, this bug can be a real pain in the arse.

Makes me re-sample to audio much earlier than I'd want to, just to stay in key.

Probably one of my worst bugbears in Live.

HamHat
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:31 pm

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by HamHat » Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:37 am

Has this been fixed yet? Feel like i'm still running into this problem.

tryptich
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:55 am

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by tryptich » Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:00 pm

HamHat wrote:Has this been fixed yet? Feel like i'm still running into this problem.
Yep, running 9.1 now and still get this!!!!

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:29 pm

Happens here too, in the latest version, and has been going on for as long as I can remember.

Clip 1 pitch bend: "---\"
Clip 2 pitch bend looks like "----", but sounds like "____", since that's where clip 1 left off.

Adjusting clip 2's PB to any non-zero value seems to help, but it's really annoying.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

Metroclone
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:53 pm

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by Metroclone » Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:55 pm

The only way I have found to fix this issue is to duplicate the track, then delete the original. But the problem will persist unless you keep the track frozen.

Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by Hermanus » Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:02 pm

boyz boyz boyz...

This is a very longtime issue.
When you play with pitch bend enveloppe be sure to place a dot at 0 for every other clip in the track.
if not the last value will stay.


welcome to ableton live, the best workaround daw in the world :lol:

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:33 am

Still not fixed in Live 9.1.6.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

soulfrost
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by soulfrost » Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:07 am

yeah I just experienced this bug myself, though the above mention of removing the bend, start a new envelope at zero, play the clip, works to reset the error.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by Stromkraft » Wed Nov 19, 2014 7:17 am

SKerkewitz wrote:When i draw a pitch bend automation into a midi clip and then click "Clear Envelope" the visual envelope line is flat again but i can still hear the pitch bend modulation is still active. I have to click a new point in the flat line to make the pitch bend actual go away.

However, on volume and pitch envelopes it works as expected: "Clear Envelop" and the automation is no longer audible.

Bug?!
I'd say it's clearly a bug. Especially as I didn't encounter this in Live 9.
Make some music!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Pitch bend clip automation bug?

Post by Stromkraft » Wed Nov 19, 2014 7:20 am

Idonotlikebroccoli wrote:Still not fixed in Live 9.1.6.
How so? How can I replicate this to not work? I left the pitch bend at the top end of my clip, played it stopping in the middle, cleared the envelope and the pitch bend disappeared instantly. Maybe I'm missing something. I'd be very irritated if this happened to me.
Last edited by Stromkraft on Wed Nov 19, 2014 7:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Make some music!

Post Reply