Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
lalo
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:47 pm

Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by lalo » Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:02 pm

Hi,
i noticed that the CPU meter in Live show far higher cpu consumption values that the one
i read in the system performance meter from the task manager in windows 7 professional 64 bit.ù
i am on a i7 quad core pc laptop witg 2.20 Ghz and i have activated the multicore option in the Live preferences.
i'm on Live 8.3.3 ( so 32 bit )

thanks and all the best

a.

supamonsta
Posts: 2621
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 7:31 pm
Location: The Lounge
Contact:

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by supamonsta » Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:33 pm

I also noticed this a long time from now on mac os X, either dual core or i7.

I always wondered why, but never took time to search about this. Did you google that? I'll try.

cheers

lalo
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by lalo » Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:51 pm

hi i googled it..but not found any relevant info. i'll keep tryin'.
thanks
a.

Mister36
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by Mister36 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:10 pm

I believe (from what I've been told) that the Live CPU meter shows the highest load of any single core at the current time, whereas your OS CPU monitor will show the overall load of all available cores.

xzusa8ky
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by xzusa8ky » Wed Jul 18, 2012 4:02 pm

That also my experience in Live on OSX Lion.
Bitwig/1.0.5 - Ableton/Live 8 - Apple/MacPro-2.8Ghz-8Core-RAID - Samsung/SM-P2770H 27" - Yamaha/HS80M/HS10W - Behringer/BCR/BCF - Allen & Heath/Xone:3D - Sennheiser/HD25-13 - Native Instruments/Komplete9/Traktor Pro

kitekrazy
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by kitekrazy » Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:11 pm

lalo wrote:Hi,
i noticed that the CPU meter in Live show far higher cpu consumption values that the one
i read in the system performance meter from the task manager in windows 7 professional 64 bit

i am on a i7 quad core pc laptop witg 2.20 Ghz and i have activated the multicore option in the Live preferences.
i'm on Live 8.3.3 ( so 32 bit )

thanks and all the best

a.
I think that exists in just about every DAW.

Tone Deft
Posts: 23565
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by Tone Deft » Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:33 pm

it's a measure of the usage of available CPU, not overall CPU.

page 484 of the manual...

"The Control Bar’s CPU meter displays how much of the computer’s computational potential is currently being used."

http://downloads.ableton.com/manuals/80 ... ual_en.pdf
oddstep wrote:I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"

lalo
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by lalo » Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:25 pm

Tone Deft wrote:it's a measure of the usage of available CPU, not overall CPU.

page 484 of the manual...

"The Control Bar’s CPU meter displays how much of the computer’s computational potential is currently being used."

http://downloads.ableton.com/manuals/80 ... ual_en.pdf
thanks, but sorry i don't really understand what this exactly means and implies. In Reaper for example loading the same plugins in an audio track, the daw cpu meter is identical ( more or less ) to the system one.
maybe there is some strange thing in Live about multicore processing?
thanks
a.

Mister36
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by Mister36 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:39 pm

lalo wrote:maybe there is some strange thing in Live about multicore processing?
Yes. In comparison to Reaper's implementation, it's crap.

chilleddreams
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 12:30 am
Location: Leipzig/Germany

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by chilleddreams » Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:07 pm

On my system it's quite opposite: Live's CPU meter is way lower than the OSX meter. I have a C2D 2,4 GHz .

I think Live measures only its own audio processing stuff but doesn't take care of 3rd party plugin CPU utilization (VSTs/AUs). For my experience the audio starts dropping when the OSX meter goes up to 90%...100%. But Live's CPU meter sometimes shows only about 60% in such situations.

Maybe it's not easy to calculate a real value. If one of 2 CPU cores is busy by 100% but the other one is idle, this might be shown as 50%. But dropouts will occur, since the the core which processes the stream is overloaded.
Mac mini 2018 i5 3 GHZ, 8 GB RAM, Sonnet eGPU
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Live 10 Suite, Push 2,
Maschine Studio, Electribe EMX/ESX, Pulse
UAD Satellite Duo

H20nly
Posts: 15836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by H20nly » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:51 pm

Tone Deft wrote:it's a measure of the usage of available CPU, not overall CPU.

page 484 of the manual...

"The Control Bar’s CPU meter displays how much of the computer’s computational potential is currently being used."

http://downloads.ableton.com/manuals/80 ... ual_en.pdf
the problem with that ^ statement is when the meter spikes to 200% or... hell... anything more than 100%

how can it be using more than "all"?

Tone Deft
Posts: 23565
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:05 am

H20nly wrote:
Tone Deft wrote:it's a measure of the usage of available CPU, not overall CPU.

page 484 of the manual...

"The Control Bar’s CPU meter displays how much of the computer’s computational potential is currently being used."

http://downloads.ableton.com/manuals/80 ... ual_en.pdf
the problem with that ^ statement is when the meter spikes to 200% or... hell... anything more than 100%

how can it be using more than "all"?
I take that to mean that it's dipping into using resources that other programs are currently using.

really, does it matter? if the audio is glitching that's all that matters. the CPU meter is just a vague guide to how hard you're basically pushing Live.
oddstep wrote:I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"

H20nly
Posts: 15836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by H20nly » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:41 am

agreed but giving it 110% is just an expression. if Live is stealing resources from other applications... then it's no wonder that people's systems would crash.

the only real benefit i have found from Live's CPU meter is that when it starts bouncing/jumping from a low number to a much higher number - back and forth... then i know it's time to reboot.

andydes
Posts: 2917
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:53 pm
Location: Bremen

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by andydes » Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:06 am

Actually, it's not really a percentage of cpu capacity.

It's the time required to process everything compared to the time available.

Ie. Time to process buffer divided by buffer length times 100.

Just don't ask where I got that from.

Tone Deft
Posts: 23565
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Discrepancies between Ableton CPU meter and the system CPU

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:41 am

andydes wrote:Actually, it's not really a percentage of cpu capacity.

It's the time required to process everything compared to the time available.

Ie. Time to process buffer divided by buffer length times 100.

Just don't ask where I got that from.
me thinks it's someone dumbing it down for you.
it's about MIPS,
Millions Of
Instructions
Per
Second.
oddstep wrote:I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"

Post Reply