Ableton Static Issue When Using Audio Interface

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
sounds
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:31 am
Location: Ireland

Ableton Static Issue When Using Audio Interface

Post by sounds » Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:29 am

Hi,

When i use ableton by itself on a laptop i have no problems with sound,

But if i hook up the novaton nio audio interface i get static if i touch any audio track volume.
I'm using novation zero sl to control ableton but i don't even tough that to get the static.

Wondering if it has something to do with switching to ASIO in ableton preferences?
It's hardly an earthing problem?
Music Live Sets: http://www.myspace.com/vue3d
I love my tunes!!

Vios
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:13 am
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Ableton Static Issue When Using Audio Interface

Post by Vios » Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:46 am

Sounds like it could be latency related? What happens if you double the current latency that you're using by changing the setting in Live's audio preferences?

sounds
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:31 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Ableton Static Issue When Using Audio Interface

Post by sounds » Fri Jul 27, 2012 7:24 pm

Thanks for the info,

I can't change the buffer size (512) in latency
I am able to reduce the driver error compensation..
The over all latency goes down from 56.00 to -0.00
But still getting static when i touch any volume control.
Music Live Sets: http://www.myspace.com/vue3d
I love my tunes!!

joshrrr
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:27 pm

Re: Ableton Static Issue When Using Audio Interface

Post by joshrrr » Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:12 pm

Are you plugging your audio interface directly in to the computer? don't use a USB hub. Try using another USB cable as if you're using an unshielded USB cable, or a USB hub with an unshielded cable, you can get interference.

sounds
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:31 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Ableton Static Issue When Using Audio Interface

Post by sounds » Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:13 pm

Yes i'm plugging the usb directly to the laptop
Music Live Sets: http://www.myspace.com/vue3d
I love my tunes!!

nuxnamon
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:59 pm
Location: 650 area

Re: Ableton Static Issue When Using Audio Interface

Post by nuxnamon » Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:15 pm

Maybe double check that the nio is set to the sample rate the project was started in

Post Reply