Multiband Limiter?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
garyd7
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Multiband Limiter?

Post by garyd7 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:28 pm

So I'm just day dreaming in work and was wondering does anyone use a multiband limiter for mastering instead of live's built-in limiter?
Basically what I imagine is using the multiband dynamics tool with all the thresholds set to 1:infinity.

Does this have any benefits over using a single band limiter?

Tarekith
Posts: 17457
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Multiband Limiter?

Post by Tarekith » Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:07 pm

Not sure I'd see a benefit myself. The whole point of a mastering limiter is to ensure you NEVER go above 0dBFS, so I'm guessing you'd have any easier time with only one band for that kind of thing. I guess if you wanted to seperate clip each band just for volume or aggression you could mimic this with a multiband limiter with each ratio set as high as possible. NOt sure I'd want to, but possible.

The Carpet Cleaner
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Multiband Limiter?

Post by The Carpet Cleaner » Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:33 am

Yes, L3

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Multiband Limiter?

Post by 3dot... » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:00 am

Image

d.reamonn
Posts: 1176
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:24 pm

Re: Multiband Limiter?

Post by d.reamonn » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:17 am

1. Create effect track
2. Create 3 chains, name them low, mid and high.
3. 1 multiband dynamics per chain, assign crossover points on each to a macro so: macro 1 (low-mid x-overs), macro 2 (mid-high x-overs)
4. 1 limiter per chain, use 6 left over macros to control them (e.g. threshold, gain per limiter)

= native multiband limiter rack... and totally pointless as you can do all this with multiband dynamics anyway, as per OP... OR DO THEY SOUND DIFFERENT? You decide, 2012.

garyd7
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Multiband Limiter?

Post by garyd7 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:02 pm

Thanks for the replies, I think I'll definitely try it out since I can't seem to get my mixes as loud as commercial songs.
I know I'm only adding to the "loudness wars" but at parties the volume always dips when my tunes come on so as long as it's not a noticable dip I'll be happy.

Red Mastering Studio
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:32 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Multiband Limiter?

Post by Red Mastering Studio » Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:00 pm

garyd7 wrote:So I'm just day dreaming in work and was wondering does anyone use a multiband limiter for mastering instead of live's built-in limiter?
Basically what I imagine is using the multiband dynamics tool with all the thresholds set to 1:infinity.

Does this have any benefits over using a single band limiter?
personally I tend to avoid multiband limiting/compression when mastering
there is simply reason, when mix sounds good, multiband can break it and mess with ballance,
so I prefer 1 band compressor/limiter,
although there are rare situations, when multiband limiter could comes in handy...
when the mix has problems, and mixer cannot re-do it, multiband compression or limiting could be the cure

alyx99
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:46 pm

Re: Multiband Limiter?

Post by alyx99 » Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:11 pm

If your are going to do your own mastering by far the best i have used is the Waves L3 16

there is a good video on Youtube of Umek using it. (futuremusicmagazine)

Very loud and precise and can also be very warm sounding

http://www.waves.com/content.aspx?id=3173

Check it out

Alex

Post Reply