SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Faldoe
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:31 am

SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by Faldoe » Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:49 pm

I plan on getting a SSD pretty soon but I'm not sure whether I should clone my prior drive - which would include cloning Live, or if I should do a fresh OS install on the new drive and then reinstall everything. Any of you make the upgrade? If so, what method did you use? Results?

Thanks.

H20nly
Posts: 15836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by H20nly » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:46 pm

Windows or Mac?

if Windows, make sure to move the temp and swap (page) files to a separate physical drive so you don't use up all your SDD writes on crap.

Macs are perfect and need nothing done to them ever.

Faldoe
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:31 am

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by Faldoe » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:54 pm

sorry, forgot to state my machine - yeah, I'm running a Mac. 2011 MBP

cpyatak
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:44 pm
Location: Vermont

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by cpyatak » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:03 am

:roll:
H20nly wrote: Macs are perfect and need nothing done to them ever.
:roll:

LOL

LP
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 11:42 am
Location: London

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by LP » Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:18 pm

Oh yeah, you better back it up.

I had a real nice OWC Mercury Extreme SSD in my 15" MBP which really made it clear I could probably get another year or so out of the 5 year old machine, maxed out to 6 GB, with both FW 400 and 800 and expresscard, all things I use that new machines don't have so easily...

It worked great for 6 weeks, them BAM. Total drive failure. Unmountable in any chassis. Too small to be a doorstop...

Good thing I had cloned the original, and kept all my work on external HD.

:(

tintala
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by tintala » Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:54 pm

I am on a PC, did the upgrade, cloned and lost the authorization,was out of them too, so had to email for another authorization. But I did a whole new install, had to authorize that one too!! All of my VSt had to be re-authorized, Reason also, what a royal pain in the ass..

anyone know how not to use up authorizations while cloning?

fishmonkey
Posts: 4095
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by fishmonkey » Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:18 pm

tintala wrote: anyone know how not to use up authorizations while cloning?
it depends on the software. some copy protection schemes include hard drive ID, some don't.

rosti
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: HELLsinki

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by rosti » Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:34 pm

I used Super Duper to clone my HDD to SSD. Super simple and everything worked fine after the SSD install. Even the windows that were open stayed that way :D

tintala
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by tintala » Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:16 pm

rosti wrote:I used Super Duper to clone my HDD to SSD. Super simple and everything worked fine after the SSD install. Even the windows that were open stayed that way :D

so Super Duper is only for MAc?

rosti
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: HELLsinki

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by rosti » Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:13 am

tintala wrote:
rosti wrote:I used Super Duper to clone my HDD to SSD. Super simple and everything worked fine after the SSD install. Even the windows that were open stayed that way :D

so Super Duper is only for MAc?
It seems so. With PC i would propably use dd on Ubuntu live CD to do the same. More of a hustle but that what PCs are all about ;D

cids
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by cids » Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:43 am

Cloning works great, I've used Carbon Copy...
Mac Pro 2.66Ghz Quad-Core

Genelec 8020; Live 10; macOS Mojave 10.14

Novation ReMOTE 49SL Compact, Focusrite Saffire Pro 14

simpleton
Posts: 913
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Location: Location:

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by simpleton » Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:31 am

FYI- the new Macbook Pros use the Samsung 830 series SSD's.
Image
Image
The Leveller wrote:Wow, a weird shaped dead coral with sh!t stuck to it. Proof indeed of supernatural abilities.

lapieuvre
Posts: 711
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: SSD users: Anyone upgrade and clone their prior HD?

Post by lapieuvre » Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:39 pm

I did it with time machine, and worked flawlessly. Took no time.
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Live 9.7.6 Suite
Live 10.1.2 Suite
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo

Post Reply