Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
H20nly
Posts: 15854
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by H20nly » Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:50 am

fishmonkey wrote:you can add width and height info:

http://www.bbcode.org/reference.php
yep! exactly!
thanks for that


*bookmark*

Riggs_df
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 10:24 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Riggs_df » Fri Dec 02, 2016 2:16 pm

Angstrom wrote:There are some things in Ableton Live that I think only three people know about.

Here's one: The rack Hierarchy view, right click the little Rack Overview and receive a menu which will allow you to quickly jump to any instrument, or effect within the rack.

It's very useful when dealing with complex racks, but almost nobody knows about it.

Image

So what obscure Ableton Function do you think most people do not know?
I didn't know that either. Very cool. Cheers mate!
Riggs (dharkfunkh)

Sound Designer @ www.zenhiser.com
Producer / Live Act / DJ @ www.dharkfunkh.net


My New 29GB House & Tech Sample Pack Is Available Now:
www.zenhiser.com/insomnia-sessions-samples-loops.html

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:26 am

Riggs_df wrote:
Angstrom wrote:There are some things in Ableton Live that I think only three people know about.

Here's one: The rack Hierarchy view, right click the little Rack Overview and receive a menu which will allow you to quickly jump to any instrument, or effect within the rack.

It's very useful when dealing with complex racks, but almost nobody knows about it.

Image

So what obscure Ableton Function do you think most people do not know?
I didn't know that either. Very cool. Cheers mate!
Same!
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

Muze
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:01 am

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Muze » Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:16 pm

I first posted this one over 10 years ago (worked it out my first day with Live as I'd been used to using a similar method with graphics plugins in Painter) so probably this is more well known now:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=44049&start=0&hilit ... ts+aliases

these days I use symlinks instead of shortcuts/aliases as most hosts support these but the principle is the same and if you are just using Live shortcuts/aliases are still fine.

Fanu
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Fanu » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:45 am

Image

When you hold CMD (Mac) and drag a transient, it locks the surrounding transients in place. Very handy, and won't mess up the nearby transient placement.
Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Ableton Certified Trainer
Ableton Alpha and Beta tester

Stromkraft
Posts: 7055
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Stromkraft » Sun Jan 15, 2017 9:12 am

Fanu wrote: When you hold CMD (Mac) and drag a transient, it locks the surrounding transients in place. Very handy, and won't mess up the nearby transient placement.
That's very handy and useful too, but incomplete. It's also not very obscure as it's in the manual :oops:. It says:
"As you mouse over transients, temporary “pseudo“ Warp Markers appear. These have the same shape as regular Warp Markers, but they’re gray.
Double-clicking or dragging a pseudo Warp Marker creates an actual Warp Marker or, if there are no Warp Markers later in the clip, changes the tempo for the clip segment. Holding the [CTRL](PC) / [CMD](Mac) modifer while creating a Warp Marker on a transient also creates Warp Markers at the adjacent transients."


From 9.2.2 Warp Markers.

So what you are doing here is creating Warp Markers rather than just moving transients. When you finish the operation warp markers is what you have.
Make some music!

Richie Witch
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:10 pm
Location: Space Coast, Central Florida

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Richie Witch » Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:08 am

Just found this out today ... CPU-hungry plugins can cause clicks and pops on completely unrelated tracks.

I had Replika XT on a bus, so to save CPU, I set up automation to turn on the plugin only when needed. When I was working on the mixdown of the finished song, I noticed this weird pop in the drum track. Even when solo'd, it would still pop. I finally figured out that it was the exact spot where Replika was being turned on via automation. Even though the drum track was not being routed to the track with Replika on it, the CPU hit was enough to cause a problem.

Increasing my buffer size fixed it.
Win7/Intel i7 rig | Live 9.7.5 | Yamaha, Korg, and Novation synths, and 12U of Eurorack | Mackie Onyx 1620i mixer/interface | various outboard gear | Dune 2, Circle2, Enzyme, Kontakt |
current studio pic -> https://photos.app.goo.gl/svVvXwLuCSjVJG8c2

Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Hermanus » Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:17 pm

Fanu wrote:Image

When you hold CMD (Mac) and drag a transient, it locks the surrounding transients in place. Very handy, and won't mess up the nearby transient placement.
Warm thank you, never noticed this feature... big time saver 8) :idea:

Angstrom
Posts: 14583
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Angstrom » Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:13 pm

Hermanus wrote:
Fanu wrote:Image

When you hold CMD (Mac) and drag a transient, it locks the surrounding transients in place. Very handy, and won't mess up the nearby transient placement.
Warm thank you, never noticed this feature... big time saver 8) :idea:
You may have also missed Press shift to align the peak with the marker
Image

chris vine
Posts: 665
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:01 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by chris vine » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:15 pm

i slide transients around like that when matching doubled vocal phrases to the previous takes. I can stretch individual parts in vocal phrases. So I get the "doubled" vocal vibe and the phrases match perfectly (ish).
I assume people use Melodyne to do similar things but it is really fast in Live.

Stefan Jantschek
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:01 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Stefan Jantschek » Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:13 am

We can select multiple points in the graphical window of EQ8.

Click, hold and draw a frame over the desired points.
Then move them horizontal or vertical with your cursor keys.
Very convenient to do changes without loosing relations.

Funny i didn´t knew that... :roll:

Greets,
*S.

NoSonic822
Posts: 700
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by NoSonic822 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:00 am

i mentioned this in tips and tricks before, but two things
1 you can drag and re order the macro columns to whatever order you want in the macro menu

2 if you have a nested rack that is macroed inside of a outer macro, it wont let you change the name of the inner macro, UNLESS, you first highlite that inner rack, THEN you can right click rename it.

weesoul
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:37 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by weesoul » Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:21 am

Don't know if it's been posted already....

But changing the mode on the simple delay to repitch and messing around with the timing can give some pretty sick results with automation! Right click on the bar at the top to get the menu!

Image

NoSonic822
Posts: 700
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by NoSonic822 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:47 am

on the chorus fx, right click and you can check off crisp or not, has some dramatic effect at high feedback

Crusade
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 1:43 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Crusade » Wed May 31, 2017 2:35 am

I do this to add width to background / high elements.
Doesn't work great on basses, can cause extreme phasing if you're not careful!
Image
DAW: Ableton Live 9 Suite
Rig:
i7 2600 @ 3.9ghz (forced max turbo)
ASUS Maximus V Extreme Motherboard
32gb DDR3 @ 1600 mhz
GALAX GTX 970
2x 19 inch 1440x900 secondary displays
1x 40 inch 3840x2160 primary display

Post Reply