Page 9 of 15

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:50 am
by H20nly
fishmonkey wrote:you can add width and height info:

http://www.bbcode.org/reference.php
yep! exactly!
thanks for that


*bookmark*

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 2:16 pm
by Riggs_df
Angstrom wrote:There are some things in Ableton Live that I think only three people know about.

Here's one: The rack Hierarchy view, right click the little Rack Overview and receive a menu which will allow you to quickly jump to any instrument, or effect within the rack.

It's very useful when dealing with complex racks, but almost nobody knows about it.

Image

So what obscure Ableton Function do you think most people do not know?
I didn't know that either. Very cool. Cheers mate!

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:26 am
by Idonotlikebroccoli
Riggs_df wrote:
Angstrom wrote:There are some things in Ableton Live that I think only three people know about.

Here's one: The rack Hierarchy view, right click the little Rack Overview and receive a menu which will allow you to quickly jump to any instrument, or effect within the rack.

It's very useful when dealing with complex racks, but almost nobody knows about it.

Image

So what obscure Ableton Function do you think most people do not know?
I didn't know that either. Very cool. Cheers mate!
Same!

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:16 pm
by Muze
I first posted this one over 10 years ago (worked it out my first day with Live as I'd been used to using a similar method with graphics plugins in Painter) so probably this is more well known now:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=44049&start=0&hilit ... ts+aliases

these days I use symlinks instead of shortcuts/aliases as most hosts support these but the principle is the same and if you are just using Live shortcuts/aliases are still fine.

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:45 am
by Fanu
Image

When you hold CMD (Mac) and drag a transient, it locks the surrounding transients in place. Very handy, and won't mess up the nearby transient placement.

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 9:12 am
by Stromkraft
Fanu wrote: When you hold CMD (Mac) and drag a transient, it locks the surrounding transients in place. Very handy, and won't mess up the nearby transient placement.
That's very handy and useful too, but incomplete. It's also not very obscure as it's in the manual :oops:. It says:
"As you mouse over transients, temporary “pseudo“ Warp Markers appear. These have the same shape as regular Warp Markers, but they’re gray.
Double-clicking or dragging a pseudo Warp Marker creates an actual Warp Marker or, if there are no Warp Markers later in the clip, changes the tempo for the clip segment. Holding the [CTRL](PC) / [CMD](Mac) modifer while creating a Warp Marker on a transient also creates Warp Markers at the adjacent transients."


From 9.2.2 Warp Markers.

So what you are doing here is creating Warp Markers rather than just moving transients. When you finish the operation warp markers is what you have.

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:08 am
by Richie Witch
Just found this out today ... CPU-hungry plugins can cause clicks and pops on completely unrelated tracks.

I had Replika XT on a bus, so to save CPU, I set up automation to turn on the plugin only when needed. When I was working on the mixdown of the finished song, I noticed this weird pop in the drum track. Even when solo'd, it would still pop. I finally figured out that it was the exact spot where Replika was being turned on via automation. Even though the drum track was not being routed to the track with Replika on it, the CPU hit was enough to cause a problem.

Increasing my buffer size fixed it.

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:17 pm
by Hermanus
Fanu wrote:Image

When you hold CMD (Mac) and drag a transient, it locks the surrounding transients in place. Very handy, and won't mess up the nearby transient placement.
Warm thank you, never noticed this feature... big time saver 8) :idea:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:13 pm
by Angstrom
Hermanus wrote:
Fanu wrote:Image

When you hold CMD (Mac) and drag a transient, it locks the surrounding transients in place. Very handy, and won't mess up the nearby transient placement.
Warm thank you, never noticed this feature... big time saver 8) :idea:
You may have also missed Press shift to align the peak with the marker
Image

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:15 pm
by chris vine
i slide transients around like that when matching doubled vocal phrases to the previous takes. I can stretch individual parts in vocal phrases. So I get the "doubled" vocal vibe and the phrases match perfectly (ish).
I assume people use Melodyne to do similar things but it is really fast in Live.

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:13 am
by Stefan Jantschek
We can select multiple points in the graphical window of EQ8.

Click, hold and draw a frame over the desired points.
Then move them horizontal or vertical with your cursor keys.
Very convenient to do changes without loosing relations.

Funny i didn´t knew that... :roll:

Greets,
*S.

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:00 am
by NoSonic822
i mentioned this in tips and tricks before, but two things
1 you can drag and re order the macro columns to whatever order you want in the macro menu

2 if you have a nested rack that is macroed inside of a outer macro, it wont let you change the name of the inner macro, UNLESS, you first highlite that inner rack, THEN you can right click rename it.

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:21 am
by weesoul
Don't know if it's been posted already....

But changing the mode on the simple delay to repitch and messing around with the timing can give some pretty sick results with automation! Right click on the bar at the top to get the menu!

Image

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:47 am
by NoSonic822
on the chorus fx, right click and you can check off crisp or not, has some dramatic effect at high feedback

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 2:35 am
by Crusade
I do this to add width to background / high elements.
Doesn't work great on basses, can cause extreme phasing if you're not careful!
Image