Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Gregory Wells-King
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Somerset UK
Contact:

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by Gregory Wells-King » Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:41 am

This has probably been mentioned.

But 'Shift' and hold to select tracks from left to right. i.e the way you would select a list of files in Windows.

Allows you to change all volume parameters globally with one fader without affecting the individual value.

Good for global volume adjustment in mixing.

This also works with 'Ctrl' to select individual tracks.

The Rabbits
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:23 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by The Rabbits » Sat Jun 20, 2020 2:26 am

To reset the Peak Level indicators on all tracks at once, including Master, hold Alt and click any one of them.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5264
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Jun 23, 2020 2:56 pm

The Rabbits wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 2:26 am
To reset the Peak Level indicators on all tracks at once, including Master, hold Alt and click any one of them.
What will I do with all this free time ?? Thanks !
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

pottering
Posts: 1119
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by pottering » Mon Jun 29, 2020 8:17 pm

You can add several levels of Modulation to a knob, using Macros.

You can draw a Modulation envelope with a sine wave shape repeating 1/4 in a knob.

Then you rack the device and macro that knob, then draw a Modulation envelope for the macro, with a descending saw shape set to 1 bar.

Then you rack again, and Macro that 1st macro to a 2nd macro in the new rack, then draw a Modulation envelope for that 2nd macro with a square shape set to 1 bar.

The square shape will modulate the saw shape that will modulate the sine shape that will modulate the knob.

And you can still tweak manually or add automation.

timday
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by timday » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:16 pm

filtersweep wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 9:50 pm
BTW, apologies if you already have this, I can't find it in a search, so...
Splitting audio according to quantize value https://gyazo.com/f5bc337d3683cb21ad6268f88d867020
You may have to look at the fades after depending...
Wait what how do you do that?

filtersweep
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:28 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by filtersweep » Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:02 pm

timday wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:16 pm
filtersweep wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 9:50 pm
BTW, apologies if you already have this, I can't find it in a search, so...
Splitting audio according to quantize value https://gyazo.com/f5bc337d3683cb21ad6268f88d867020
You may have to look at the fades after depending...
Wait what how do you do that?
It's all there in the screengrab.
Say your quantisation is set to 16ths, you hover over the clip you want to split. Hold down CTRL+E and whilst doing so drag the cursor over the clip and it will split is into 16ths. It's a little lacking in finesse ( I would love if they had a split by grid command in Ableton, similar to the one in Presonus Studio). handy as I am always splitting drum loops and such.

jdd
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:33 am

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by jdd » Sat Jul 04, 2020 1:17 am

filtersweep wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:02 pm
It's all there in the screengrab
...
Hold down CTRL+E

Ah ha!

timday
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by timday » Sat Jul 04, 2020 7:09 am

filtersweep wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:02 pm
timday wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:16 pm
filtersweep wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 9:50 pm
BTW, apologies if you already have this, I can't find it in a search, so...
Splitting audio according to quantize value https://gyazo.com/f5bc337d3683cb21ad6268f88d867020
You may have to look at the fades after depending...
Wait what how do you do that?
It's all there in the screengrab.
Say your quantisation is set to 16ths, you hover over the clip you want to split. Hold down CTRL+E and whilst doing so drag the cursor over the clip and it will split is into 16ths. It's a little lacking in finesse ( I would love if they had a split by grid command in Ableton, similar to the one in Presonus Studio). handy as I am always splitting drum loops and such.
I got that far experimenting but weirdly it's not doing it like that for me. Instead of slicing to quantisation it does some kind of time based thing where I get more slices if I drag slower and fewer if I drag fast, with no reference to quantisation or the grid or slicing presets or anything else that I can figure out.

filtersweep
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:28 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by filtersweep » Sat Jul 04, 2020 7:02 pm

You're right it does change. So that must be due to whether you are using the adaptive snapping.
If it's on the normal snapping it works the way that I illustrated.
I would assume that this is an undocumented feature.
I guess you would normally use sampler or simpler for slicing.

timday
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by timday » Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:57 pm

That's what I thought but I tried fixed grid as well. I'll keep messing around with it because it would be pretty handy for me if I can make it work.

The Rabbits
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:23 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by The Rabbits » Sun Jul 05, 2020 7:13 am

Gregory Wells-King wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:41 am
This has probably been mentioned.

But 'Shift' and hold to select tracks from left to right. i.e the way you would select a list of files in Windows.

Allows you to change all volume parameters globally with one fader without affecting the individual value.

Good for global volume adjustment in mixing.

This also works with 'Ctrl' to select individual tracks.
If only it selected grouped tracks too. Mainly to resize ALL track widths at once, all groups, all sub groups,...

timday
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by timday » Mon Jul 06, 2020 5:22 pm

filtersweep wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 7:02 pm
You're right it does change. So that must be due to whether you are using the adaptive snapping.
If it's on the normal snapping it works the way that I illustrated.
I would assume that this is an undocumented feature.
I guess you would normally use sampler or simpler for slicing.

OK so. Sort of solved but this is weird.

I'm on a Mac so I use cmd instrad of ctrl but I assume it's the same on PC.
So, the issue is that yes cmd+E +drag slice edits but for me didn't do it according to quantisation, it was kind of random depending on how fast I drag the selection tool. But if in the edit commands you cmd+drag, it turns the grid off. I wondered if that was why it wasn't slicing to grid.

So, if you have the grid off, then cmd turns the grid *on* so if you start with the grid *off,* cmd+E+drag selection over the loop will then slice to grid (but it still seems to be time based as if you go too fast it skips divisions)

Definitely an undocumented feature I'd say.

filtersweep
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:28 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by filtersweep » Mon Jul 06, 2020 8:45 pm

Well, it has a use for me in certain situations ( I still like to work with the audio clip rather than splitting stuff into a sampler. That's just a habit though).
There are indeed many ways to skin a cat in Ableton in this regard.
Another tip which may be well known already is a shortcut tip
. If you want to hide panels in Ableton you do so with a shortcut e.g. Hide/show browser is CTRL + SHIFT + B.
Well, it appears that if I use the ALT Gr key and then use the shortcut, in this case, would be ALT Gr + B.
A trivial thing, except it actually makes workflow a bit smoother as I have my keyboard on the left and so it's much quicker to do it this way for me.
Hope that makes sense...
: )

timday
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by timday » Mon Jul 06, 2020 10:28 pm

Ah no, don't get me wrong, the slicing on the timeline thing is a lot more useful to me than slicing to sampler or simpler and I can see using it a lot. Especially since it also works on MIDI. I just wish it worked consistently for me and/or was properly documented so I could figure out how to make it work consistently.

filtersweep
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:28 pm

Re: Post your most obscure Ableton Live knowledge

Post by filtersweep » Mon Jul 06, 2020 10:55 pm

Well all I can say is I've messed about with it this evening and it seems to work fine for me as long as the grid snapping is on and that it's the fixed grid. And won't really work in a useful way when the grid is switched off completely.

Post Reply