Problem with Chain Selector in Sampler when making 128s

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Ginkgo
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:36 pm

Problem with Chain Selector in Sampler when making 128s

Post by Ginkgo » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:55 pm

I've spent a bunch of time putting together some drum racks with a sampler on each pad, each sampler containing 128 different samples. Though tedious, it's been going as I'd hoped until just now. When I got to snares, I select 128 different samples, and there's a range on the chain selector (around 70-90) where the midi information isn't triggering the samples. I made sure that the original sample pathways are still accurate, that the chain selector ranges are equally distributed, but this keeps coming up.

Any suggestions?? It's not the end of the world, since I still have over 100 working samples in the 128, but it's eating away at me.

deepdirtydub
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Kitchener

Re: Problem with Chain Selector in Sampler when making 128s

Post by deepdirtydub » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:59 am

I've been running into issues with tagged .wav files. For example a bunch of 808 Kick drums with 'Base Note', 'Low Note' and 'High Note' tagged in the .wav info which interferes with the 128 setup.

Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Problem with Chain Selector in Sampler when making 128s

Post by Theo Void » Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:09 am

Dude. I'm having the same problem. Any idea's anyone on whats causing this? It's super annoying and I can't really figure it out.

Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Problem with Chain Selector in Sampler when making 128s

Post by Theo Void » Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:43 am

Actually I figured it out. Some of the samples had different key ranges. Just have to select all and drag them all to cover the entire range.

Ginkgo
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:36 pm

Re: Problem with Chain Selector in Sampler when making 128s

Post by Ginkgo » Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:07 am

Theo, I just saw your response now. You're absolutely right, a handful of the samples get assigned to a certain key.

Good call. Thanks for the response.

Any idea why this is?


Post Reply