Can't drop audio effects rack

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
trippbro
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:01 pm

Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by trippbro » Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:01 pm

Just got Ableton, trying to set up an audio effects rack. I try to drag "Audio Effects Rack" and drop it onto the track but it won't let me. Any help would be appreciated!

kennsore
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by kennsore » Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:01 pm

I would guess you have the audio or midi editor open. Double click on track (click on the track name, not inside the clip) to get into the effects.

Any help?

chrk
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:36 pm

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by chrk » Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:40 pm

I would guess you are trying to drag it into a midi track without an instrument.

No instrument - no audio routing - no audio effects.

trippbro
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:01 pm

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by trippbro » Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:39 pm

No, I am dragging it into an audio track.

It won't let me drop a generic audio effects rack, not even something like "EQ Three", or "Beat Repeat".

kennsore
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by kennsore » Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:13 pm

If you have recorded something and are watching the waveform, you can't drag any effects into the channel. Double click the channel name until an empty effects line appear, then you can drag effects onto the channel. I'm refering to the line below session and arrange view.

It should be explained in the manual.

trippbro
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:01 pm

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by trippbro » Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:41 am

I know, it says to just drop an audio effects rack into the channel. That's what I'm doing. It won't allow me to do it. I'm getting the circle with the line through it like a no-smoking sign. It will allow me to drop specific audio effects like if I were to go to EQ THREE's subset folder then get "Boost High Hats" but it won't allow me to drop an effects rack.

Lee-James
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:05 am

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by Lee-James » Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:20 pm

Hi, did you ever resolve this issue? I am having exactly the same issue and its bugging the hell out of me. Thanks in advance.

SnoopWess
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 8:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by SnoopWess » Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:57 am

Same problem.. This has never happened to me before. I cant drag and drop anything. HELP!!

djdynamiclee
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:14 am

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by djdynamiclee » Thu Jan 23, 2014 3:36 am

ok, to solve this problem i uninstalled ableton and reinstalled it. one point might be that you are using the light version and it won't allow this option, not sure of that though. i do know that i bought the EDM Bundle and when i went to install it i did not follow the instructions properly. i just loaded the program went on line and tried to enter the serial number off the live CD case. Bad idea. you must first enter the Live light number found on the (upgrade & Unlock Card) inside the (APC20 Box), then upgrade to the full version on your user account and register the serial number on the Live CD case. i still wasn't getting the full version. i think its because i didn't do it right the first time. i called Ableton Tech support and they said it look good on their end. so as a last resort i uninstalled and reinstalled and vwala it worked even other issues i was having went away. i hope this saves you a call to tech support if not call em. DJ-Dynamiclee

Chris-P
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:55 pm

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by Chris-P » Wed Jan 29, 2014 9:41 pm

I had this problem too but I figured out what it is.

You have to reselect the Audio-Effects rack on the side then drag it back in, I don't know why it does this but sometimes Ableton will deselect it and you're just trying to drag nothing into your instrument which is why it won't let you. :)

arachne
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 9:18 pm

Re: Can't drop audio effects rack

Post by arachne » Wed Mar 24, 2021 9:19 pm

thank you chris-p, was having the same frustrating issue and your solution worked for me!

Post Reply