what point do you give up on a song? after 1, 2 or 6 years?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
nathannn

what point do you give up on a song? after 1, 2 or 6 years?

Post by nathannn » Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:18 am

I have a track that i have been working on since 2006, it has been re arranged re-mixed and re-worked every imaginable way.
It went from a simple synth line into an electronic song then I re-made it for guitar to be a rock song and now its back to electronic.
I can not get this thing finished!

Of course I haven't spent the last six years working on it but its been one of those things where every few months I open it up and mess with it more.
The thing is this isn't the only song like this I have two more from the same era (around 2006)

Anyone care to take a look at it and see if you could come up with suggestions or something?
I wont be paying you.. except in the unlikely event it becomes a hit.
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

anybody human

Re: what point do you give up on a song? after 1, 2 or 6 years?

Post by anybody human » Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:46 pm

The track Untitled? I like it. It's lovely. Bit loose on the low end but it's that kind of rolling track. A touch of something bright would be cool as a counterpoint, like a watery electric piano melody played in a high-ish register. I dig it.

matthews

Post by matthews » Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:33 pm

I actually think that untitled track is pretty interesting. Not my style, but not too shabby nonetheless. Also, I like the sig, at least its fun and unique, instead of the typical "heres my logo - visit my blog".

matthews

Post by matthews » Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:03 pm

How so?

pharos

Post by pharos » Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:18 pm