Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by H20nly » Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:26 am

:D you think that's crazy... Ableton Live only works on one monitor...

...thus the question becomes... half size Live or life full size? 8O

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by 3dot... » Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:56 am

you wait... when those beziers come...they BETTER BE in mfn HD !
Image

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by 3dot... » Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:22 am

one power plug...
one power button...
done.
8O
http://www.gscreenlaptop.com/SpaceBook_ep_44.html
imagine a guy like that sitting next to you on the plane...
Image
Image

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by H20nly » Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:36 am

yes brother dot... the bezier shall smite them all!
3dot... wrote:one power plug...
one power button...
an endless supply of dirty looks at the coffee shop...
fixed for statistical purposes.

tintala
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by tintala » Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:36 pm

One biggest complaint is Live doesn't support dual monitors... ya cant even detach the mixer or session view, wtf? That seems very basic, as Reason gets big ups for this ! I have dual monitors and only use the other one for plugins when using live. Big fail.

southsounder
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Olympia

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by southsounder » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:27 am

Why stop at two? :)

rmallam
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:52 am

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by rmallam » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:47 am


ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by ian_halsall » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:09 pm

I have four - ha.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by H20nly » Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:26 am

turn it up to 11

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by Sibanger » Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:04 am

And while you're at it, buy some new shoes :wink:

http://www.ohgizmo.com/2012/10/15/why-a ... ards-heel/

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by ian_halsall » Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:42 pm

I take it all back - my wife just told me it would be better if I had a big one...

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by ian_halsall » Sun Oct 21, 2012 10:53 am

is that edge to edge?

crikey - sounds highly unnatural

MacGuffin
Posts: 1075
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: suburban nightmare
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors or 1 big one?

Post by MacGuffin » Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:33 pm

Da hand wrote:I have 2 monitors and use mainly Live for production. Even if Live doesn't "use two screens", the second screen is very useful for:

- putting up plugins (Meters, Eqs, Compressors, Synths, etc) - that way they don't cover what is going on in Live
- placing the video screen when syncing music / sound with video
- when working with two or more programs (i.e. Rewire)

this, +1

Post Reply