anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
tintala
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Post by tintala » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:56 pm

I am using a 128 gb for my main.. It's fast and I love it when it works,, however, on several occasion, the HD suddenly disappears from BIOS and quits reading!!!

For example; I was in the middle of working in Live, and my computer just shut down by itself. Then I got to reboot, NO SSD!???

I look in BIOS< it's not listed! WTF?


I am running w-7, i5 core, 3.2ghz , 8gb ram..

I then booted from another drive, did a check disc, try rebooting and it took like 4 times for it to boot from the SSD.

Anyone else have this problem, what could it be? Maybe overheating of the RAm or HD?

Gab
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:38 pm
Location: France

Re: anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Post by Gab » Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:25 pm

This cannot be an overheating problem.

Can you provide details (manufacturer & model) of your SSD and motherboard ?

Some SSD are known for being quite buggy, some are very reliable. Maybe you just picked the wrong one.
'If they act too hip, you know they can’t play shit.'

tintala
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Post by tintala » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:14 pm

Gab wrote:This cannot be an overheating problem.

Can you provide details (manufacturer & model) of your SSD and motherboard ?

Some SSD are known for being quite buggy, some are very reliable. Maybe you just picked the wrong one.

Kingston 128 gb ssd, 3mbs.

Intel mother board, i5 core .

cotdagoo
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Post by cotdagoo » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:26 pm

is there any firmware updates available from the manufacturer?

M-bition
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 5:22 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Post by M-bition » Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:08 pm

I had similar problems. SSD stopped working after several minutes>BSOD>disk is gone
Turning off power helped but same problem happened again.

Scanning for errors stopped everytime at the same % and file and disk disappeared. Cloning the disk could not be completed, stopped everytime.
It looked like certain areas made the disk stop working when they were read.

Updating Firmware did not do the trick but a complete secure erase did help for now. Hope you have a back-up.

tintala
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Post by tintala » Thu Oct 18, 2012 3:24 pm

cotdagoo wrote:is there any firmware updates available from the manufacturer?
Yes it appears there is a firmware update! But is says this will delete all data: :cry:

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Post by ian_halsall » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:05 pm

there are known issues - I was using one at my office for a while but it wrote some crap into the boot sector and that was it

given that it didn't give a significant performance difference I went back to SATA.

cotdagoo
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: anyone using SSD as their main drive? Mine keeps disapearing

Post by cotdagoo » Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:45 pm

tintala wrote:
cotdagoo wrote:is there any firmware updates available from the manufacturer?
Yes it appears there is a firmware update! But is says this will delete all data: :cry:
If you have the ability to backup your SSD to another drive to update the firmware I strongly recommend EaseUS Todo Backup Free - http://www.todo-backup.com/products/hom ... ftware.htm

It is by far, hands down the easiest partition cloning software I've used in windows for doing a similar job (Was upgrading a 40gig SSD to 128gb SSD) and had no problems booting or any other headaches.

Post Reply