sound quality: live vs. logic

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ayanami

sound quality: live vs. logic

Post by ayanami » Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:05 pm

i've been in denial about this for a couple of years now, well since LIVE v.2 - when i first started noticing a difference and i was transitioning from logic to live. anyway, i am 100% convinced there is a sound quality issue with live's output. i'm not an audio engineer so don't crucify me for not using proper language to describe the situation...

if i had to use one word to describe the output of live compared to logic, it would have to be flat or dull. even when i *don't* use any warping/time stretching features, it still comes out dull compared to the sonic richness and clarity of logic. this is not a case of artifacting due to timestretched audio rendering on the fly. in fact, taking a track that was done in logic importing it into live arrange mode (again, NO warping being applied) and playing it back at the exact bpm, will still (albeit slightly) degrade the quality. i don't get it.

seems like i read a definitive post from mr.henke a year or so ago about how live's engine creates and processes sound (did some digging but couldn't find in the archives), and if i remember correctly the result was for the most part an additive process - factoring in time stretching, effecting, eqing - and this is where some points were being made about output quality. also seems like there were some posts around the same time saying that live was fun to play with, but technically still a toy and doesn't (can't) compare to a true pro audio app like logic/cubase/etc in terms of output quality.

anyway, it's crushing my soul and i don't really want to walk away from live, but the quality i'm getting is unacceptable for public consumption, imho. if anybody even vaguely feels like they're experiencing the same thing, please let me know that i am in fact not losing my marbles and going mad...

Per Boysen