VST3 support in Live 9?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Napole0n

VST3 support in Live 9?

Post by Napole0n » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:05 pm

I've been begging for it for a couple of years, but it never made it into Ableton Live 8.x, and I can't read anything about it in the 'New in Live 9' bits, so I thought I'd ask here: will Live 9 feature VST3 support?

Thanks.

doom_Oo7

Re: VST3 support in Live 9?

Post by doom_Oo7 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:08 pm

Let's hope so, some plugins just haven't got a vst2 mode anymore due to technical restrictions...
Ossia Score, an OSC sequencer for intermedia arts - http://www.ossia.io

Napole0n

Post by Napole0n » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:18 pm

Yeah, for me it's mainly the Motif XS editor plug-in I want to use.

Regardless whether VST3 support will be in there, I just bought the upgrade to Suite 8 with a free upgrade to Live 9 Suite later to celebrate anyway :)

TBAAV

Post by TBAAV » Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:50 pm

This would indeed be nice to know. Overall I think they should give a bit more information about what's happened "under the hood."

glitchrock-buddha

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:52 pm

I want to know this as well. It should definitely support VST3. There are growing number of products that are coming out as VST3 and not 2.4.
Professional Shark Jumper.

Napole0n

Post by Napole0n » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:05 am

Anybody on the Ableton develop/support team who could answer this please?

simpli.cissimus

Post by simpli.cissimus » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:40 am

VST3 support - forget that !!!

...also... : No bridge for 32bit plugins in 64bit version !(I'm sure they'd mention it if there was one)

Live 9 has not much to offer, except Push, which purpose is to catch the customers of hardware,
and bind those to Ableton, because those hardly switch to other DAW
when they've invested money into this new Software/Hardware-combination.