LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
CooCooCaCha
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:24 pm

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by CooCooCaCha » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:07 pm

William wrote:So you're a beta tester?
Yes. I just got in the beta and this was the first thing I checked.

Sean_Clarke
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 10:20 am
Location: U.K.

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by Sean_Clarke » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:34 pm

This will not go well on the gearslutz live 9 thread....
DAW: Cubase 8 & Live 9 Suit + Push, Bitwig Studio. Desk: X32: Instruments: guitars, v-drums, bass and Electron A4 & RYTM.

esp81
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by esp81 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:48 pm

Well that's really disappointing.

UCAudio
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:11 pm

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by UCAudio » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:50 pm

Wow, how could they not have addressed this? So, someone managing the Live 9 project looked at this and said... ehhh, timing isn't really all that important in a DAW, screw all of these complainers who want accurate timing, and competitors who offer accurate timing.

tw1nstates
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by tw1nstates » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:58 pm

It's obvious why they have made the forum so incredibly difficult to find...

There's still some major issues with live.

:(

I really thought they would have sorted this shit out.
I slipped into a daze, whilst I was there I heard the most startling music, it was at once familiar and alien, reassuring and unsettling.
https://soundcloud.com/fearoftherave

Sean_Clarke
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 10:20 am
Location: U.K.

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by Sean_Clarke » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:11 pm

Ableton need to comment on this ASAP, is it a beta bug or will Live 9 be incapable of keeping time when racks are used.

I want to know why my other DAW can keep time no matter what I do, and Live can- is this something in he structure of Live that just can't be fixed?

It won't (and hasn't ) stop me using and enjoying live, it will (and does) affect how I use it.

A clear statement will let users know if Live is for them (rather than complaining about it afterwards) but there are certainly a lot of people on kvr and gearslutz who don't use Live for the PDC issues and would have used Live 9 if it was fixed.
Last edited by Sean_Clarke on Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DAW: Cubase 8 & Live 9 Suit + Push, Bitwig Studio. Desk: X32: Instruments: guitars, v-drums, bass and Electron A4 & RYTM.

William
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by William » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:13 pm

Damn. I was hoping this would be fixed too.
Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/rimby

i7-3770K 3.5GHz
16GB RAM
256GB SSD, 1TB 7200HD

Windows 8

Live 9

andydes
Posts: 2917
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:53 pm
Location: Bremen

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by andydes » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:16 pm

CooCooCaCha wrote:
William wrote:So you're a beta tester?
Yes. I just got in the beta and this was the first thing I checked.
Hang on, I thought this was a problem with automation and tempo synced effects? Isn't your example simple effect delay compensation, which does work ( I thought)
What am I missing?

Edit: oh, yeah, sorry, I'm being particularly stupid today.
Last edited by andydes on Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mrhairy
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:09 am

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by mrhairy » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:17 pm

Thanks Ableton,

-Hiking up the upgrade price $100 last minute.
-Not fixing PDC.

Thanks for making it easy for me to decide not to upgrade...

andydes
Posts: 2917
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:53 pm
Location: Bremen

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by andydes » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:21 pm

mrhairy wrote:Thanks Ableton,

-Hiking up the upgrade price $100 last minute.
-Not fixing PDC.

Thanks for making it easy for me to decide not to upgrade...
I agree with the sentiment, but you've a funny definition of last minute. They've only just announced it.

esp81
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by esp81 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:23 pm

I was really hoping this PDC would be fixed, so I could actually use Live as my main DAW. It will probably never be fixed since it hasn't yet by version 9. No pdc or snap to grid make automating plugins a real pain in the ass.

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by agent314 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:29 pm

Can someone explain what exactly the issue with PDC that people are running into is?

I've been using Live for the better part of 3 years and have not run into any issues with plugin timings

soultwist
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 6:03 pm

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by soultwist » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:43 pm

Please...I too would appreciate an explanation of this PDC problem and how I can recreate it. As I understand it, if I don't use too many external plug-ins I'm fine? As in, stacking Live effects has no effect on delay?

esp81
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by esp81 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:56 pm

Basically Live's PDC on VST plugins only compensates the audio..not the midi , which causes automation to be out of sync when you start adding more plugins before or after an automated plugin. Most other DAWs will compensate this properly, but Ableton has always had this problem.

CooCooCaCha
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:24 pm

Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?

Post by CooCooCaCha » Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:01 pm

soultwist wrote:Please...I too would appreciate an explanation of this PDC problem and how I can recreate it. As I understand it, if I don't use too many external plug-ins I'm fine? As in, stacking Live effects has no effect on delay?
I'd recommend checking out the post I made on page 3 with the picture. That should hopefully explain things.


Also
I tested automation delay compensation and it seems that is not fixed either.

Post Reply