All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 890 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 56, 57, 58, 59, 60  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 7:57 pm 

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:33 pm
Posts: 518
hoffman2k wrote:
And every time somebody says Apple sucks, Apple makes another Billion.


Apple sucks ! Apple sucks ! Apple sucks !
I just made another 3 billions for Apple... :mrgreen:

Anyone needs a billion too, just let me know ! :wink:

_________________
No! I'll never use the Push-App Live 9 !!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:57 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1420
hoffman2k wrote:
And every time somebody says Apple sucks, Apple makes another Billion.

Really?
This percentage shows they suck in their principal job - unless they are thinking their principal job is to make mobile phone.
http://www.netmarketshare.com/operating ... pcustomb=0

Ouch they suck in their sideline job. 30% decline
http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=AAPL ... l;range=6m

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:09 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 263
pencilrocket wrote:
- unless they are thinking their principal job is to make mobile phone.



Of course it is. Where do you think they are making the majority of their money?

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/puzzlefactory


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:14 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1420
puzzlefactory wrote:
Of course it is. Where do you think they are making the majority of their money?

When did they swallow their pride?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 9:33 pm 

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 10:58 pm
Posts: 7
One good thing i've noticed is when you turn off your soundcard and convert your track to a file it seems all the automation is correct. Even though its a mess when played live. Has anyone else experienced this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:59 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 23575
Location: SF, CA
something else is going on there. what you wrote doesn't add up. the actual number crunching is your computer, sound cards just do payback.

you should also read in this thread what the actual issue is here. somewhere petite wrote a write up.

_________________
oddstep wrote:
I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:47 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:50 pm
Posts: 11636
Location: MacAbleton Towers, sunny Manchester.
I did do an intro to PDC a while ago actually, but haven't got round to finishing it. I need to get my finger out. Anyone up for checking what I've written so far? I'll leave my notes in for the moment (in purple). If anyone wants to help finish it or provide feedback please send me your comments via email to fran@macableton.com.

here's where I'm up to
http://www.macableton.com/Ableton_live_ ... ensat.html

_________________
Image
★ 140 PAGES OF FREE exclusive Ableton Live and Mac OS X tutorials ★ News, interviews, gear reviews ★ Productivity, ergonomics, mouse-free computing
"great site with clear instructions and i like it that you make it understandable" dwiddy
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:36 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
wake the dead!

:lol:

I can't run live w/o a soundcard so sorry, I'm not following.

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:40 am 

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:27 pm
Posts: 7
simpli.cissimus wrote:
Nice to know what effects you should not use and having a list of those.

But may I ask you, if you think it's O.K. to give up the freedom to use any effects you want ?
Where is the sense in that ?

I read all about the workarounds and I don't like one of them !
They might help you to finish a project, but I don't like to do future projects with all that in mind.

Have to keep a list beside me to know what not to use.
Bounce any new step, might not like it have to go back and forth for that !
Can't use automation on a simple effect like a delay !

All that sums up and makes it just crap to work !

and now deadmau5 ...BAM

_________________
شركة تنظيف بيوت بالرياض التسويق


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 3:51 am 

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:29 pm
Posts: 25
i am really losing faith in this company, ableton 9 feature list made me laugh and cry..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 10:55 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm
Posts: 46
@all pdc requesters : lets write to ableton support to wake them up instead of wasting time in the forum. I did. Good luck!

_________________
Bitwig 1.0, Live8 Suite Boxed, Studio One Professional, Melodyne Assistant
Komplete Ultimate, Sylenth, Ozone5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2013 7:43 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 37
If PdC was really that important, wouldn't most of you have moved on by now?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:21 am 

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:52 pm
Posts: 46
For sure, question ist how often...
I do it ~twice a year - at every update.
This thread has nearly 18000 views, there are tons of threads just in the live forum about automation PDC and I personally know good musicians who did quit live because of this issue, so there seems to be some interest ;-)
I personally bought S1 just to do proper automation just because of this limitation, but being creative in live and doing all automation and submixing in another DAW is less then half of the fun, and everything but a smooth workflow.

_________________
Bitwig 1.0, Live8 Suite Boxed, Studio One Professional, Melodyne Assistant
Komplete Ultimate, Sylenth, Ozone5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 2:08 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 37
kayhel wrote:
...This thread has nearly 18000 views, there are tons of threads just in the live forum about automation PDC and I personally know good musicians who did quit live because of this issue, so there seems to be some interest ;-)



I don't doubt it. But I'm willing to bet the majority of Live's users don't rate this issue as highly. & why would they? Most of them are still using Live as a live application. It's only the people trying to use it a post production DAW that the automation pdc "bug" find a "huge" issue with it.


I mean he's got a video where he goes from 20 bpm to 480 bpm to demonstrate the issue. I can see how that can really put the brakes on a project.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LIVE 9 : PDC IMPROVED OR NOT ?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:21 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Posts: 3397
Location: Europe
thunderkyss wrote:
I don't doubt it. But I'm willing to bet the majority of Live's users don't rate this issue as highly. & why would they? Most of them are still using Live as a live application. It's only the people trying to use it a post production DAW that the automation pdc "bug" find a "huge" issue with it.

I mean he's got a video where he goes from 20 bpm to 480 bpm to demonstrate the issue. I can see how that can really put the brakes on a project.

I made a simple test for the sends latency that is not compensated by live: a simple snare loop with a short room reverb on a send. First render at 1024 buffer size. The sound was like bom-kah. Then 512: bokah, then at 128: Kahh!

Its better the smaller the buffer size. Not everyone knows this. And if like me with not new cpu and big projects I usually have to work in 1024. Rendering the project I put buffer size as short as I can before live crashes. For me the limit is 128. But if would be nice to not have to move back and forth in the setings like this. Many times it happens that I forget to put it back after a render lets say in the night. Then next time I open a project and live will crash. Then I have to load an empty project and reset the buffer size.

Also there are measured some latency issues with racks. like if you make a crosover and you have a plug with bad latency in one part, the crossover will get out of phaze because of the latency difference, creating a static flanger sound.

50% of the producers I talk to that dont use live usually asks about lives audio quality because they have herd its bad.. This roumour comes from PDC I would guess..

_________________
LIFE IS A PROGRESS BAR


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 890 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 56, 57, 58, 59, 60  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group