Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by aioffermann » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:32 pm

BLAUUUUUUUGH!!!!!!

So have anyone figured out any reason the APC40 will still remain significant with push coming out?

OOOOOOOOOOOMG!!!!!

Can't get enough of this. Not only is 9 going to be released but I GET TO DO MICROTIMING VIA HARDWARE WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO FUCK MEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Napole0n
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:51 pm

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by Napole0n » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:36 pm

The APC40 is compatible with Live 9, so you'll still be able to use it like you do now. Push is just an alternative, just like the Novation Launchpad is. Can't really see why anybody would be bothered by it, if you think Push is better then sell your APC40 and get one.

simpli.cissimus
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by simpli.cissimus » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:12 pm

Push means..., APC got stabbed in the back and Maschine got a front kick.

Both now in big trouble, because almost all Live users will wanna go
for the native Push, to keep every thing from and in one house.

Just makes more sense, compatibility and function wise.
Software and hardware from one company is unbeatable(so I hope...) !!!
No! I'll never use the Push-App Live 9 !!!

garyboozy
Posts: 2576
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by garyboozy » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:22 pm

Push is made by Akai too. its just not badged that way now.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by JuanSOLO » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:24 pm

simpli.cissimus wrote:Push means..., APC got stabbed in the back and Maschine got a front kick.
I think it's safe to say NI got a roundhouse to the face and Bitwig got clipped on the return too.

Warrior Bob
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:10 pm
Location: Central Coast, California
Contact:

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by Warrior Bob » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:25 pm

I sure hope so because then I can buy a cheap APC when everyone starts unloading them to buy a Push.

aizo
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Osaka

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by aizo » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:26 pm

Warrior Bob wrote:I sure hope so because then I can buy a cheap APC when everyone starts unloading them to buy a Push.
sell ya mine!!!
ImageImage

Matt_Quinn
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by Matt_Quinn » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:27 pm

I feel bad for Keith McMillen. The QuNeo now looks like a very cheap version of the Push.
the_planet wrote:Trap music is not supported in the current version.

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by ark » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:33 pm

garyboozy wrote:Push is made by Akai too. its just not badged that way now.
Um, yes it is. Look for "Akai" on this page.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by JuanSOLO » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:39 pm

Matt_Quinn wrote:I feel bad for Keith McMillen. The QuNeo now looks like a very cheap version of the Push.
the QuNeo looked cheap from the get go.

Warrior Bob
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:10 pm
Location: Central Coast, California
Contact:

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by Warrior Bob » Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:34 pm

Matt_Quinn wrote:I feel bad for Keith McMillen. The QuNeo now looks like a very cheap version of the Push.
Speaking as an unabashed QuNeo fan, I think they're different focuses. I'd use a QuNeo when I want several different layers of expressive control (x/y in addition to pressure on drums, for example), which is more of a performance thing. Larger pads help for this. I'd use a Push when I want to focus on a start-to-finish production workflow, more like something like Maschine or an MPC.

I think the QuNeo works better as an adjunct to the Live workflow, whereas I think Push looks to replace that workflow directly.

Matt_Quinn
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by Matt_Quinn » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:08 pm

Yeah, they are completely different price points as well. I just kind of feel like Push appears to be everything I wanted my QuNeo to do out of the box, and in a more intuitive manner.
the_planet wrote:Trap music is not supported in the current version.

bartend7
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by bartend7 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:29 pm

i'll buy anyone's apc40 ,

i wont consider a push for a while until the price is less than 300 or so.

the push doesn't seem like it would improve my workflow, but make it slower, then i'd learn it, then something else will come out. its the cycle of controllers. promised workflow, but hours spent learning that workflow (or code) instead of making music.

everyones so giddy about these announcements. I think its funny cause the shit probably wont come out until next summer.

ttilberg
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by ttilberg » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:51 pm

I don't think the Push kills APC 40 at all.

APC 40 doesn't offer the features Push does, but it also doesn't cost nearly as much -- which is important for people without the budget.

Plus, an APC40 is still pretty dope -- especially for under $300!

That said -- I'm springing for a Push lol :)
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5

simmerdown
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Location: Northwest Nowhere

Re: Push means APC40 is redundant right?

Post by simmerdown » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:56 pm

Warrior Bob wrote:I sure hope so because then I can buy a cheap APC when everyone starts unloading them to buy a Push.
same thought here, and i like sliders

scanning craigslist when the push starts to ship...

Post Reply