Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by kevwestbeats » Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:33 pm

I saw the leaked video last week and was unsure but I like this and with the new Push controller makes this look like a great update! I am sorry I doubted Ableton even for a second now.
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

XSIMan
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by XSIMan » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:00 pm

I'm just upgrading to use Push not seen anything in Live 9 that will help me more than Live 8 I already use the 64bit version of Live 8 and I only use third party plugins.

You can upgrade Live 8 standard to Push + Live 9 Standard for 598 euros thats £498 in pounds. I might get Max for Live too.
Sounds like alot of money but we got atleast four months to save before anyone can buy them.

dewaldo
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:18 am

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by dewaldo » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:04 pm

I wonder how Push will work with rewired/external instrument devices (ie, Reason). I realize things like the file browser probably won't be sync'd up with Reason, but it would be great to be able to control and automate device and effects parameters (including swing and etc) directly from Push to Reason devices...

sporkles
Posts: 3203
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by sporkles » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:21 pm

dewaldo wrote:I wonder how Push will work with rewired/external instrument devices (ie, Reason). I realize things like the file browser probably won't be sync'd up with Reason, but it would be great to be able to control and automate device and effects parameters (including swing and etc) directly from Push to Reason devices...
If you go Suite, I think there's a Max for Live device that will act as a Live rack (i.e. controllable through Instant Mapping) and pass on CC's to Reason. I requested this a long time ago, and someone mentioned they'd made a M4L device that did this.

dewaldo
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:18 am

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by dewaldo » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:48 pm

sporkles wrote:
dewaldo wrote:I wonder how Push will work with rewired/external instrument devices (ie, Reason). I realize things like the file browser probably won't be sync'd up with Reason, but it would be great to be able to control and automate device and effects parameters (including swing and etc) directly from Push to Reason devices...
If you go Suite, I think there's a Max for Live device that will act as a Live rack (i.e. controllable through Instant Mapping) and pass on CC's to Reason. I requested this a long time ago, and someone mentioned they'd made a M4L device that did this.
Brilliant, thanks

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by kevwestbeats » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:38 pm

XSIMan wrote:I'm just upgrading to use Push not seen anything in Live 9 that will help me more than Live 8 I already use the 64bit version of Live 8 and I only use third party plugins.

You can upgrade Live 8 standard to Push + Live 9 Standard for 598 euros thats £498 in pounds. I might get Max for Live too.
Sounds like alot of money but we got atleast four months to save before anyone can buy them.
If we buy Push we get Live 9 for free. I want to say it updates to whatever version we already own. I will probably upgrade to the suite soon and then maybe wait until income tax time to buy Push. Its like $500 usd for Push that is not a ton of money but not something I like to spend at once during random points in the year.
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by kevwestbeats » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:39 pm

dewaldo wrote:I wonder how Push will work with rewired/external instrument devices (ie, Reason). I realize things like the file browser probably won't be sync'd up with Reason, but it would be great to be able to control and automate device and effects parameters (including swing and etc) directly from Push to Reason devices...
I didn't think about that. I rewire Reason to Live daily.
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

condra
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by condra » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:43 pm

I would like to get Push, without Live 9

dewaldo
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:18 am

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by dewaldo » Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:13 am

Would be great to get an official Ableton take about Push's synchronization with Rewire (and even VST) devices.

On another note....I wonder if Push will render my midi keyboard obsolete....the scale functionality may be all I'll ever really need for melodies...

Tarekith
Posts: 17671
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by Tarekith » Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:28 am

Very curious to how it handles 3rd party plug ins too!
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering

condra
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by condra » Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:37 am

Yep. Maschine does a prety good job with plug-ins in my opinion.
If it does as good a job or better, that will be very cool.

Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by Theo Void » Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:44 am

Damn man, I still love my trusty old APC40

Jesse
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:48 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by Jesse » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:00 am

Hi Guys,

Good questions. I can't make any promises or tell you exactly how it will work when released, as we are still refining details.

In regards to external instruments, I currently use Push to control 12 hardware synthesizers, using the "External Instrument" device and various M4L devices to send CCs out (i.e. I can control all the parameters of my Chroma Polaris from Push...ahhh...). I haven't used Reason much these days, but I'll look into if this works in a similar way. Bonus points: I use a M4L device which dynamically sends each note of a chord to a different external monophonic synth...joy.

With Live devices, we try to have the 8 macros laid out in a consistent way -- so you almost always know which encoder to grab for filter frequency or resonance, etc. With VSTs, we currently can't access parameters in an automatic and consistent way, as we can with our own devices, so you would be left with a way to load a VST, but not control it automatically. The workaround, for the moment, is to save a VST into an Ableton rack, with parameters laid out as you'd like. Push both sees these presets in it's browser, and automatically maps to the device controls. The wish for more automatic control of VSTs is noted though.

In general, the new browser offers some really cool ways to access your one shot samples and device presets. For example, if you have drums scattered across your computer, you just drag the folders to be "Places". Once this is done, if you browse for "hi-hat" from Push, it sees all your hi-hats, from everywhere across your computer, in one place (provided they are in a folder called "Hi-Hat," etc. This extends to external drive folders dragged to places as well -- which are dynamically shown/hidden if the drive is attached.

Best,
Jesse
Push Project Manager

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by 3dot... » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:02 am

Live 9 does look good ... and so does 'push' (been a long time coming...)
can't wait to try out !
Image

condra
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Live 9 looks great and Push is a no brainer!

Post by condra » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:33 am

Jesse wrote:The workaround, for the moment, is to save a VST into an Ableton rack, with parameters laid out as you'd like. Push both sees these presets in it's browser, and automatically maps to the device controls. The wish for more automatic control of VSTs is noted though.
I would have no problem with racking up and mapping a VST to use it with Push, assuming I can:
*map all parameters, not just 8
*save the mapping preset and access it later (i.e that I only have to map something like Sylenth once.)

I'm not sure if you are talking about Macros or "Configuration Mode".
It would be cool to be able to either scroll through pages of Macros, or rows of "Configuration Mode", perhaps even with APC style graphical boundary box.

Post Reply