Live 9 retina support?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
H20nly
Posts: 15836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by H20nly » Wed Mar 27, 2013 7:06 am

Tarekith wrote:Most other DAWs I use like Logic or Studio One implement text better or something, because they scale fine on the Retina. Things like icon graphics are still jagged, but that stuff doesn't bother me as much as blurry text does. I admit I have no idea of the specifics involved with other DAWs, they just at least look MOSTLY compatible, where as Live isn't optimized at all.

For instance, here are some random screen shots I just took of different projects in Live, Logic, and Studio One. Check them at full resolution, and you can see the difference quite easily:

Live:

http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/5150/livefl.jpg

Logic:

http://img805.imageshack.us/img805/5165/logic.jpg

Studio One:

http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/4135/19033021.jpg
i'm on my laptop (Windows 15" screen) and Live looks a tab blurry. Logic seems to have the jagged graphic elements and S1 looks the best, but Live doesn't look that bad, just not as good as the other two. don't misunderstand my meaning... i would HATE to have blurry text, even slightly.

it's too late for me to bother with looking at my iMac right now, but i'm wondering if the problem is elevated by the class of the display... so the better the display the worse it gets. kinda like how some movies look fuked on an HD TV when you first get one i.e. skin and how it looks like you're in the making of the movie rather than the movie (Aliens for example).

so it's like a bitter sweet pill... when something is designed for retina support it's kick ass, but when you find something that isn't it's like being a victim of your own high tech - like a Lamborghini on a dirt road.

drez
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by drez » Wed Mar 27, 2013 2:16 pm

H20nly wrote: so it's like a bitter sweet pill... when something is designed for retina support it's kick ass, but when you find something that isn't it's like being a victim of your own high tech - like a Lamborghini on a dirt road.
Ha! Excellent analogy :)
http://www.twitter.com/dreznicek
http://www.soundcloud.com/dreznicek
MacBook Pro Retina Laptop, 2.7Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM, 500G SSD, Live 9, Push, Novation SL25 Mk2, iPad (TouchOSC, Lemur, Touch-Able), Reason

login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by login » Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:06 pm

Tarekith wrote:Most other DAWs I use like Logic or Studio One implement text better or something, because they scale fine on the Retina. Things like icon graphics are still jagged, but that stuff doesn't bother me as much as blurry text does. I admit I have no idea of the specifics involved with other DAWs, they just at least look MOSTLY compatible, where as Live isn't optimized at all.

For instance, here are some random screen shots I just took of different projects in Live, Logic, and Studio One. Check them at full resolution, and you can see the difference quite easily:

Live:

http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/5150/livefl.jpg

Logic:

http://img805.imageshack.us/img805/5165/logic.jpg

Studio One:

http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/4135/19033021.jpg

wow, those other daw's have horrible GUI's ewwwww...

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by agent314 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 7:33 pm

wow, those other daw's have horrible GUI's ewwwww...
Logic's was fine, but holy cow is Studio One's display cluttered. I'd lose my top working in there

Never realized how clean Live's UI is compared to the competition.

su-Y
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:23 am
Location: lndn
Contact:

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by su-Y » Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:26 pm

http://sachagreif.com/flat-pixels/

Big reason I chose Ableton above other DAW's is that it has nice interface

Tarekith
Posts: 17311
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by Tarekith » Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:56 pm

agent314 wrote:
wow, those other daw's have horrible GUI's ewwwww...
Logic's was fine, but holy cow is Studio One's display cluttered. I'd lose my top working in there

Never realized how clean Live's UI is compared to the competition.

That's just some random default project, not at all how mine normally look.

H20nly
Posts: 15836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by H20nly » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:05 pm

that was a good read. thanks.

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by pencilrocket » Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:47 am

Tarekith wrote:For instance, here are some random screen shots I just took of different projects in Live, Logic, and Studio One. Check them at full resolution, and you can see the difference quite easily:
It looks Logic and Studio One using system font unlike Live.
Image

photonal
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Live 9 retina support?

Post by photonal » Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:25 am

The 'Zoom Display' feature would be much nicer if the user interface stayed crisp and sharp when zoomed in.

Why would anyone want to work with fuzzy blurry text!?!?!

Ableton, please fix this UI mess.

Post Reply