This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
sporkles
Posts: 3203
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Post by sporkles » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:13 pm

Does anyone know what the button to the right of the record button is for? (And what the dropdown on the rec button, for that matter.)

Image

It couldn't be a ... detach button, could it (as in dual monitor support)? Am I overlooking the obvious?

nathannn
Posts: 3317
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Re: This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Post by nathannn » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:25 pm

they would have announced that. and it would seem more logical to place the button on the side of the screen some place not not on the transport bar.
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

mharris
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Post by mharris » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:27 pm

That toggles automation recording in session view.

See this video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... QDuH8_k0#!

Interesting that in the video, that very button appears with different icons.

sporkles
Posts: 3203
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Post by sporkles » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:47 pm

Ah, crap - I missed that.


Forge.
Posts: 5792
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Post by Forge. » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:24 pm

Valiumdupeuple wrote:Yeah.
But what about the "NEW" button?
"prepare new scene for recording"

stops clips in armed tracks and prepares a new scene for recording clips into it

garyboozy
Posts: 2631
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Post by garyboozy » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 pm

i'm curious as to how the new system actually works re: session vs arrange, absolute to relative etc. cos i can't see a Back To Arrange button anymore.
mr. forge?

Forge.
Posts: 5792
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Post by Forge. » Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:41 am

the BTA button is still there but currently only visible in the arranger... maybe this will change again before it's released, I have no idea - I know I'd prefer to see it all the time...

there's now a 're-enable automation' button as well in case you manually over-ride the session automation.

clip envelopes, or 'modulation' is still there, but it's hidden by default to avoid confusion.

garyboozy
Posts: 2631
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: This little thingy in the L9 transport bar has me curious...

Post by garyboozy » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:40 am

Forge. wrote:clip envelopes, or 'modulation' is still there, but it's hidden by default to avoid confusion.
:!:
so by default it's set to absolute in both session and arrange now, BUT there are both absolute and relative modes available to use within session and arrange, per clip?

Post Reply