analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
grunzlaut
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:57 am

analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by grunzlaut » Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:05 am

Ok, next thread about the new products. Maybe a Mod can give a quick answer:

Will it be possible to use push as an analog style step sequencer. Above every vertical row of buttons there is a dedicated encoder. That would make a nice layout for such an application.

Or asked differently: Will the step sequencer app be able to send midi notes and cc´s instead of only drum triggers?

electrofux2007
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:12 am

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by electrofux2007 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:41 am

THIS is the big question for me aswell. 8 encoders above 8 Steps should be made for Parameter Sequencing. I really hope this is in. I also wonder if it will be possible to sequence over Midi/Rewire (into Reason in my case).

grunzlaut
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:57 am

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by grunzlaut » Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:07 pm

electrofux2007 wrote:... I also wonder if it will be possible to sequence over Midi/Rewire (into Reason in my case)...
...and hardware synths in my case ;-)

If push would feature analog sequencing, I would instantly buy it. otherwise i´ll stick with my apc and my next purchase will be this:

Image


:mrgreen:

Acid303
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:07 am

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by Acid303 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:03 am

I want this!

yur2die4
Posts: 6419
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by yur2die4 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:09 am

It is intriguing how they finally got clip automation recording down.... And yet I don't quite see this particular feature. HMM!

delicioso
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by delicioso » Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:28 am

grunzlaut wrote:Will it be possible to use push as an analog style step sequencer. Above every vertical row of buttons there is a dedicated encoder. That would make a nice layout for such an application.

Or asked differently: Will the step sequencer app be able to send midi notes and cc´s instead of only drum triggers?
I doubt it. Push can only step sequence Drum Racks, not regular midi tracks:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=186306
Jesse Terry wrote:
Is there any sequencing of regular midi tracks? Or just drum rack tracks?"
Currently there is only step sequencing of drum rack tracks.
Jesse Terry wrote:We do not currently have an editor, and notes can not be changed on Push.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:18 pm

If you think about it you could build a hack of pitch, length, and velocity midi effects, put them in a drumRack and make a crude sequencer.

I modified the new M4L MonoSequencer to give the user APC40 control of it.
The Matrix is a maximum 32 step layout per 8 sequences,
Pitch
Duration
Octave
Velocity
4 CC out, sequencers.

It works similar to elektron sequencing using the p-locks idea.
When you press a button on the Matrix the 8 Device Control Knobs update to that steps values listed above, and let you dial in the parameters per step.

There are quite a few other features as well.
However, I was informed the new MonoSequencer device might get rebuilt, due to some of it's limitations.
It's really cool though for sequencing external synths, fast and easy to work with, simple yet fairly deep.

This kind of thing could be ported to PUSH for sure.
No matter what PUSH comes with out of the box, there will always be people customizing it.

Zygi
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by Zygi » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:14 pm

My 3 cents about what I see. A little bit offtop, but I'd love to hear your thoughts.

The more I read about Push, the closer I am to buying max4live and a launchpad again ( sold one some time ago).

There are advantages, of course, but I don't think I am interested in several things, as I'm: 1. an amateur pianist, not a wannabe-fingerdrummer 2. into novation midi controllers with displays 3. not seeing any big advantages over existing solutions 4. proper sequencing is what interests me. Which is doable with cheaper controllers and some max4live knowledge.

There might be many ppl who share my point of view...

On the other hand... I'm an abletonwhore and I love everything associated with them. And love a good piece of hardware. So push will come, sooner or later.

elemental
Posts: 930
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 7:42 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by elemental » Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:27 am

This is a clincher for me.

I'm sure someone will hack it. But this thing is screaming to be used as a midi note step sequencer, with elektron-style p-locks per step !

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by JuanSOLO » Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:46 am

@elemental, do yo have an APC40?

elemental
Posts: 930
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 7:42 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by elemental » Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:55 am

JuanSOLO wrote:@elemental, do yo have an APC40?
I did once, for about 2 weeks.. sold it as it felt bulky and not intuitive at the time. I know others love theirs... maybe I didnt give it enough time?

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by JuanSOLO » Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:58 am

I was asking because I modded the new m4l mono sequencer so the apc40 can control it, in p lock fashion. I would have sent it to you.

revoltcrew
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:29 am
Location: uSa
Contact:

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by revoltcrew » Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:14 pm

JuanSOLO wrote:If you think about it you could build a hack of pitch, length, and velocity midi effects, put them in a drumRack and make a crude sequencer.

I modified the new M4L MonoSequencer to give the user APC40 control of it.
The Matrix is a maximum 32 step layout per 8 sequences,
Pitch
Duration
Octave
Velocity
4 CC out, sequencers.

It works similar to elektron sequencing using the p-locks idea.
When you press a button on the Matrix the 8 Device Control Knobs update to that steps values listed above, and let you dial in the parameters per step.
wow.. i'd love to try your monosequencer mod version... i have an apc
100000greenCanaries are either violin0rGreen
http://sunfalls.org ||http://soundcloud.com/sunfalls || http://vimeo.com/sunfalls

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by JuanSOLO » Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:38 pm

Cool.
In the beta version of 9 the Mono Sequencer had some bugs that got resolved in the final release.
I was started porting everything to the new device, not simple.
For that reason I have been holding off on posting it.
However pm me you email and I will share it.
Keep in mind the I have no instructions for it, so I will send a cheap quick start.
Also I will be re arranging a few functions AND fixing a couple annoying things by end of the week.

el_hambre
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Tarragona (Spain)

Re: analog style step sequencing with push...possible?

Post by el_hambre » Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:10 pm

Monosequencer trough Push will be really cool, hope it will be just a matter of time...

Post Reply