All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 34  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:41 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:38 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Boston, MA
In case anybody is interested in how the chromatic note mapping works, I made a little diagram showing how it was set up in the launch video.

These are the intervals relative to the lower-left pad.
(P1 = root (perfect unison), m2 = minor 2nd, M2 = major 2nd, m3 = minor 3rd, M3 = major 3rd, P4 = perfect 4th, TT = tritone, P5 = perfect 5th, m6 = minor 6th, M6 = major 6th, m7 = minor 7th, M7 = major 7th)
Instead of doing extended intervals above an octave, I started back at the root after the M7.
Code:
M7   P1   m2   M2   m3   M3   P4   TT
TT   P5   m6   M6   m7   M7   P1   m2
m2   M2   m3   M3   P4   TT   P5   m6
m6   M6   m7   M7   P1   m2   M2   m3
m3   M3   P4   TT   P5   m6   M6   m7
m7   M7   P1   m2   M2   m3   M3   P4
P4   TT   P5   m6   M6   m7   M7   P1
P1   m2   M2   m3   M3   P4   TT   P5

Just like a guitar. Ah, that makes me so happy.

In diatonic mode, it appears to be set up like this:
Code:
1  2  3  4  5  6  7  1
5  6  7  1  2  3  4  5
2  3  4  5  6  7  1  2
6  7  1  2  3  4  5  6
3  4  5  6  7  1  2  3
7  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
4  5  6  7  1  2  3  4
1  2  3  4  5  6  7  1

In diatonic mode, depending on the mode you select, the appropriate scale degrees will be shifted appropriately. For example, if I chose Aeolian, then the 3, 6, and 7 would be flatted "behind-the-scenes."

If you're unfamiliar with intervals and modes, then this all sounds like gibberish to you. If that's the case, check the "Interval (music)" and "Mode (music)" articles on Wikipedia for a basic introduction.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:31 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:51 pm
Posts: 76
Hey!

As im currently working happily with an apc 40 - and im highly interested in your opinion..

How would you combine the apc 40 with push in one setup?

Best regards,
Philip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:09 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:48 pm
Posts: 4
Hi Jesse,

Can you confirm it will possible to play with levels/pans/sends/rack knobs above 8 tracks while launching/stopping/soloing clips above the same 8 tracks? Not sure about this since you wrote that Push design was focused on controlling one track at a time.

Thanks! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:27 pm 

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:07 pm
Posts: 2
spiral scratch wrote:
Hi Jesse,

Can you confirm it will possible to play with levels/pans/sends/rack knobs above 8 tracks while launching/stopping/soloing clips above the same 8 tracks? Not sure about this since you wrote that Push design was focused on controlling one track at a time.

Thanks! :D



Please, I d like to know this too. thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:54 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:48 pm
Posts: 260
Location: Philadelphia
Hi All,
Some new responses posted. Keep the questions coming.
Jesse

_________________
Jesse Terry
www.ableton.com
www.jethroe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:55 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:51 pm
Posts: 76
Hey jesse!

Where did you post the new replies?

All the best, philip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:07 pm 

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:12 pm
Posts: 187
Look on page 1 of this topic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:51 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:58 am
Posts: 92
Location: Atlanta
Will it be possible to setup push with session view in the top 8x4 grid (instead of the step sequencer), while still having the bottom-left 4x4 grid be dedicated to triggering samples (and maybe the bottom-right being used for session navigation)?

IMHO I feel like that would be the ideal setup for performing with Push. 8) (especially if you could see the clip names on Push's screen :wink:)

EDIT:

Just realized he gave this answer:
Quote:
Currently, no -- Session Mode (for launching clips) and Note mode (for playing drums/instruments) are discrete. Your wish is noted.


This feature would be a great thing. ;)

_________________
SoundCloud
Facebook


Last edited by blakjesus on Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:44 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9959
m4l api question
will I be able to tweak Pushs' (non-user mode) functions ?
direct access to buttons/encoders/screen through the api ?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 1:36 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:51 pm
Posts: 76
Another one.. I dont quite get it after watching the presentation video...

As presented: When you choose a synth or sampler for example..you choose the preset, change the settings.. Its all saved directly into the clip in live 9 when you are working with push.

BUT:

A.) is the chosen instrument still part of the channel like it is now and the midi clips and automations just affect it?.... In other words: when i create the first clip in an empty channel - do i define the instrument for the whole channel with that action?

or

B.) is choosing different instruments like samplers, tension or other vst instruments part of the clip from now on? Means: can i have different clips with different instruments in them in the same channel?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 1:38 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9959
reading some of the answers...
will it be safe to assume that Push has it's own browser... seperate to Lives' interface ?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:49 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:29 pm
Posts: 2
I do not quantize my drums, it's not my modo. So? Is the step sequencer's gonna allow me keep on doing my thing? How will it work with the pads? tnx

(and sorry if there is any english mistakes)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:42 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:51 pm
Posts: 76
When you re-enter an already recorded instrument clip from session mode - and you change the tune its playing in --> Does the clip save that change when you go out of the clip again?

Lets say, i recorded something nice in c minor but the band wants to hear and play along with it in g minor from then on.
How do i change that clip permanentely? Do i have to nudge it in the midi note view on the computer or is it enough to change it on the controller and live does the note nudging for me?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push: Questions & Answers
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:28 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:50 pm
Posts: 11636
Location: MacAbleton Towers, sunny Manchester.
In a nutshell, how does the Push relate to the Launchpad/Nocturn and the APC40? What does it do that they can't?

_________________
Image
★ 140 PAGES OF FREE exclusive Ableton Live and Mac OS X tutorials ★ News, interviews, gear reviews ★ Productivity, ergonomics, mouse-free computing
"great site with clear instructions and i like it that you make it understandable" dwiddy
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 7:49 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:58 am
Posts: 931
the bite wrote:
Now Push will be able to adjust the selected clip or loop when they are on the session view as clip.
It,s possible to use the encoders with the audio samples to preview unwarped samples on the browser and jump to different parts of the waveform?.That would be amazing, use the start encoder to finally move into unwarped clips on the browser.Now we cannot do this, and this kind of thing will make push awesome.


+1


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 34  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group