All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 34  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:54 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:14 am
Posts: 713
how does Push handle 3/4 and 6/8 time signatures with that pad arrangement?

_________________
Get 20GB of fast FREE cloud storage here: https://copy.com/?r=YEKEXr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:35 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:29 pm
Posts: 105
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
What is the size of Push drum/control pad? Is the pad layout kinda close to each other will affect on playing drum. How does it compare to the pad spacing with Launchpad's pad? (in term of finger space). Love the MPC style pad space, alot of fun. Not sure if Push can deliver that kinda playability. So anyone can share some info would be great, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 3:58 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 12993
Location: The Wild West
funken wrote:
H20nly wrote:
...
My one line post was obviously to the OP. Over 600 viewers so far have visited my humble page on Live 9/Push, mainly coming from Facebook, Gearslutz, KVR etc, quite a few messages of thanks for putting all the official Ableton stuff (and officially sanctioned stuff) I can find on Live 9 and Push in one page for people. Not everyone is a regular on this forum. I like to think I'm helping the cause in my own small way. Now, back to the thread. Please don't anyone reply to this post as I will not reply, not wanting to distract the thread any further.



you can say you don't want to distract, but you distract every thread with your self/site promotion. even in your reply to me, which you're trying to act as though you're being humble about by making the font small, you've put in more stats about your webpage. if so many people from so many places are viewing your pages then why do you need to chime in to every half way serious thread on this forum to say that you've linked it? just because you're being a parasite at all those forums too... doesn't mean that we need constant status reports about the statistic you've gleaned. this is the Ableton forum not your personal ad space for click farming. you're a bot, with just a little more personality...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:14 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:29 pm
Posts: 105
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Push tech spec say 12cm Touchstrip with 24 LED and the whole unit depth under dimension is 293mm(29.3cm). That means the touchstrip should look less than half of the unit right. But every picture of Push tells a different story. The Touchstrip is way longer than 12cm. So am I missing something here? I'm about to turn away from Push thinking that why the hell did they fit 8 rolls of buttons in such small Depth/Length equivalent to 12cm Touchstrip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:16 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Posts: 1775
Location: Ableton
friendly reminder that this is a thread for discussing Ableton Push - please don't derail it with personal messages.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:30 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:49 pm
Posts: 31
UCAudio wrote:
With Push, will it be possible to select a drum rack cell by pressing a pad on push, and then turn a knob to scroll through different drum samples within a folder to choose which drum sample is assigned to that drum cell? Basically, this would do away with spending time making "128s" and would let the user quickly setup drum racks.
+1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:38 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:29 pm
Posts: 105
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Monchai wrote:
Push tech spec say 12cm Touchstrip with 24 LED and the whole unit depth under dimension is 293mm(29.3cm). That means the touchstrip should look less than half of the unit right. But every picture of Push tells a different story. The Touchstrip is way longer than 12cm. So am I missing something here? I'm about to turn away from Push thinking that why the hell did they fit 8 rolls of buttons in such small Depth/Length equivalent to 12cm Touchstrip


Could someone answer my question, thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:08 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 340
Location: Calgary
Monchai wrote:
Push tech spec say 12cm Touchstrip with 24 LED and the whole unit depth under dimension is 293mm(29.3cm). That means the touchstrip should look less than half of the unit right. But every picture of Push tells a different story. The Touchstrip is way longer than 12cm. So am I missing something here? I'm about to turn away from Push thinking that why the hell did they fit 8 rolls of buttons in such small Depth/Length equivalent to 12cm Touchstrip


Using the picture here https://www.ableton.com/en/push/ which on my screen is 19cm deep and the strip is 11cm deep. Assuming the actual product is 29.3cm as stated, this would mean the strip would actually be about 17cm or about 40% longer.

So you are right, something is certainly off.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:26 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Posts: 1775
Location: Ableton
Monchai wrote:
Monchai wrote:
Push tech spec say 12cm Touchstrip with 24 LED and the whole unit depth under dimension is 293mm(29.3cm). That means the touchstrip should look less than half of the unit right. But every picture of Push tells a different story. The Touchstrip is way longer than 12cm. So am I missing something here? I'm about to turn away from Push thinking that why the hell did they fit 8 rolls of buttons in such small Depth/Length equivalent to 12cm Touchstrip


Could someone answer my question, thanks


Jesse is getting to these as fast as possible - thanks for your patience.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:18 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:21 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Seeing the title (and being a QA person, as in test/qa by trade) I thought they were looking for people to QA the hardware with live 9 lolz. I would go for that! hahaha

_________________
http://www.darkenedsoul.net - main website
http://www.artistserver.com/miredintwilight - martial/dark ambient project
Ableton Live 8.3/8.4/9.0.5 : NI Komplete 8 : Home built E6850 4GB 1x2TB, 2x1TB 7200 RPM SATA II drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:37 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14473
Location: Belgium
How sensitive are the pads? I know they're not regular AKAI pads. Using Maschine/Mikro MkII or DS Tempest as examples of the most sensitive pads and Nanopad/LPD8 as medium sensitive, where would Push fit in?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:02 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:27 pm
Posts: 636
hoffman2k wrote:
Nanopad/LPD8 as medium sensitive

Nanopad is medium sensitive. LPD8 and all other Akai pads (MPC/MPD/MPK...etc.) are the least sensitive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:23 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:38 am
Posts: 45
Simple questions:
What is the 9th knob along the top?
What are the two knobs on the left?
What are the primary functions of the two pad rows below the LCD (not part of the 8x8 group)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:25 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am
Posts: 771
syncr wrote:
Simple questions:
What is the 9th knob along the top?
What are the two knobs on the left?
What are the primary functions of the two pad rows below the LCD (not part of the 8x8 group)?


9th knob=master
i guesst eh 2 left knobs are left tempo and right pitch bend/ribbon range
and i'm pretty sure the 2 rows at the top are function keys/select buttons, like mute and solo


my beef with this device is: why lcd at the top and no lcd on the side for scene names? thats a lame oversight, means i NEED to look at the screen if i play live

_________________
Image
Live Electronic Music For Machines, By Machines (iTunes)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ableton Push QA
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:42 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:03 pm
Posts: 2717
Location: Dublin
Massive respect for Jesse here and +1 to everyone who thinks Ableton should take this engaging, personal approach more often.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 502 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 34  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group