All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 1:36 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am
Posts: 3143
is anyone else experiencing a bug where the Push 2 display goes blank when you are browsing Audio Unit plug-ins?

the Push 2 continues to work, however the display is blank until i reboot it...

_________________
smutek wrote:
For an ever lasting sound ... turn sustain, decay and release all the way up and lay a brick on your keyboard. You also want to leave your computer on for this. Don't move the brick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 2:50 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:09 am
Posts: 4
I faced a similar problem yesterday on a windows system.

Here Push 2 was blanking randomly and not only while browsing but the unit was still functioning afterwards, beside the display.
But if I powered down Live and on again in this blanked state, the unit wasn't working at all and all button lights didn't turn on again.
The MIDI Port was still selectable in the Live setup.

I tried around with different USB Ports, USB Hosts, USB Hubs and finally found a stable working USB solution.
Since yesterday late night its working without any display problems.

I'm not sure if this is the same problem on MACs, but give it a try.

Regards,
Nils


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:56 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am
Posts: 3143
the Push 2 recovers if i power it down, or if i restart Live.

it only happens when i am browsing my Audio Unit plugin list though, so it has to be a software/firmware bug...

_________________
smutek wrote:
For an ever lasting sound ... turn sustain, decay and release all the way up and lay a brick on your keyboard. You also want to leave your computer on for this. Don't move the brick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:06 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am
Posts: 3143
it also only seems to happen if i start with a blank set, and start by browsing the Audio Units...

_________________
smutek wrote:
For an ever lasting sound ... turn sustain, decay and release all the way up and lay a brick on your keyboard. You also want to leave your computer on for this. Don't move the brick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:16 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 332
Location: Ableton
Hi there,
Please report this bug to support@ableton.com
Thanks
Julien

_________________
Ableton Forum Moderator


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:36 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am
Posts: 3143
logged a support ticket yesterday. it just happened again in a non-empty set, so it's not just a blank set thing.

_________________
smutek wrote:
For an ever lasting sound ... turn sustain, decay and release all the way up and lay a brick on your keyboard. You also want to leave your computer on for this. Don't move the brick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:16 pm 

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 4
I don't know if we're having the same problem, but my Push 2 still displays the logo on the LCD screen while everything else is functional. It doesn't show any kind of display or waveforms or anything, just says "Push"..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:24 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 15433
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
That sounds faulty, I would definitely contact support at the email above.

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com - electronic music mastering.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:20 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am
Posts: 3143
weird bug. still in touch with Abes support about it.

i tried to work out if a particular AU plugin was causing the bug. i then starting experiencing Push2DisplayProcess crashes on my computer.

most strangely, once i cut my AU list down to 80 plugins, i discovered that each half of those plugins worked fine. but having them in together caused the bug again...

_________________
smutek wrote:
For an ever lasting sound ... turn sustain, decay and release all the way up and lay a brick on your keyboard. You also want to leave your computer on for this. Don't move the brick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2015 4:27 am 

Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 4:20 am
Posts: 9
I'm having the same problem in Win7-64 with Push 2 and VST-64 plugins. I browse to my Plugins folder and the display crashes. One time there was an actual crash screen for the display driver, but I didn't catch the crashdump report. (I hit the close button by reflex. Doh.)

Like others reported, only the display crashes. The rest of the controller still works.

I have most of my VSTs nested in subfolders, but there are a lot of folders/files.

I'll send in a report to support@ableton.com, too.

EDIT: I found the APPCRASH data, and sent that with the Ableton Status Report file to support.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2015 7:38 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 7:37 pm
Posts: 1
Having the same issue on Win 8 x64 when browsing plugins. Regardless of new set or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:13 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Posts: 5792
Location: Melbourne Australia
I get is 100% of the time. Can't browse any plugins :(

Abes say they are aware but can't replicate it. I sent a vid for good measure.

_________________
Twitter | Facebook | The Mixplant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:31 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am
Posts: 3143
my hunch is that it is some silly bug to do with the handling of plugin manufacturer or device names...

_________________
smutek wrote:
For an ever lasting sound ... turn sustain, decay and release all the way up and lay a brick on your keyboard. You also want to leave your computer on for this. Don't move the brick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:32 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Posts: 5792
Location: Melbourne Australia
fishmonkey wrote:
my hunch is that it is some silly bug to do with the handling of plugin manufacturer or device names...


yeah possibly, except sometimes I can scroll a page down, sometimes only 1 plugin before it dies. You'd think it'd be exactly the same every time if it was a single plugin.

_________________
Twitter | Facebook | The Mixplant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Push 2 screen goes blank when browsing Audio Unit plugins...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:45 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am
Posts: 3143
timothyallan wrote:
fishmonkey wrote:
my hunch is that it is some silly bug to do with the handling of plugin manufacturer or device names...


yeah possibly, except sometimes I can scroll a page down, sometimes only 1 plugin before it dies. You'd think it'd be exactly the same every time if it was a single plugin.


true, that happens to me too. the weird thing is that in my testing it's not a single plugin that causes the issue. it's some interaction between multiple plugins.

_________________
smutek wrote:
For an ever lasting sound ... turn sustain, decay and release all the way up and lay a brick on your keyboard. You also want to leave your computer on for this. Don't move the brick.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group